ACHIEVEMENT 2 @monjuapollonia task: Basic security on steemsteemCreated with Sketch.

in Newcomers' Community4 years ago (edited)

Hello great steemians!

It Sunday and I am so excited about my Achievement 2 task, as I endlessly ask numerous questions to my mentor @fombae. For a while now, I have been part of this block chain and am loving the original content of diverse cultures I read daily.

IMG-20201221-WA0001.jpg

Source

Password as I know provide the first line of defense against unauthorized access to your personal information. It so impressive as I read how @cyptokannon reiterate on the importance of the keys ranging from the least important which is the posting key to the more important which is the master password.

QUESTION 1: Have you retrieved all your keys in steemit?
Yes retrieving my steemit keys was the first thing my mentor emphasized on before I created my account.
So immediately after creating my account, I retrieved all my keys to my Google account.

QUESTION 2:Do you know each of these keys functions and restrictions?
Oh yes! Following the hierarchical order from posting key to the master password, I know that with my posting key allows me to post content, comment on post, votes, edit, follow and mute other accounts if I want to. My everyday log in to steemit is with my posting key.
Next is the Active key which is above the posting key, showing how important it is. With the active key, am able to transfer funds , Power up , Power down transaction, vote for witnesses, convert steem dollars, updating my profile details and why not place a market order.
I equally understood that the active key can also complete all the previous keys functions (posting key).

The owner key is next and us referred to as the powerful key and used it to change other keys in my account including the owner key itself, it's used to recover compromised accounts. I have stored it off line in my flash . There's is what I know of the memo key which is embedded in the owner key used for encrypting and decrypting when am transferring funds.

The last but most important of them all is the master password. That's the reason why it's called master password because I can use it to generate all the other three keys. I can only use it during account recovery .

QUESTION 3: How do you plan to keep your master password?
Being the most important of them all, I have
Stored it in my Gmail account drive and also mailed it to my younger brother who is trust worthy but not yet a steemian.

QUESTION 4: Do you know how to transfer your steem token to another user account?

No, as a newbie here, am hopping to understand in the days ahead, it quite challenging trying to understand all this. I think will understand how the steem token transfer work as my experience get to growth on the steemit community.

Screenshot 2020-12-21 084422.png Log in my wallet and click Steem

Screenshot 2020-12-21 084523.png Pop up, I can put the account and amount of STEEM to be transfer to the account

Screenshot 2020-12-21 084717.png Lastly you have to confirm the transfer

QUESTION 5: Do you know how to Power up your steem?
Powering up builds my steem power and having more steem power. The higher my steem power, the more value my steem account. So with time, I will get to understand more aspects of powering up.

Screenshot 2020-12-21 083825.png Log into my wallet

Screenshot 2020-12-21 083954.png Select powerup from the drop down

Screenshot 2020-12-21 084221.png Put in the amount of steem and click power up.

#achievement2
#cryptokannon
#fombae
#newcomer
#steem-cameroon
#cameroon

Sort:  
 4 years ago 

Hello @monjuapollonia, you have done great in taking the steps to complete your achievement 2, however, in the task Here it is given that you should have basic understanding on how to use your steem wallet.

I will like you edit the post and answer the question 4 & 5:

  • Do you know how to transfer your steem token to another steem user account?

  • Do you know how to power up your STEEM?

You are welcome to do that with image samples. Thanks for your understanding.

I look forward to your correction.

#affable

 4 years ago 

Thank @bright-obias for going through my achievement 2.
Corrections have been made, hope I'm on track?

 4 years ago (edited)

Approved! You have done well, i'll recommend your article to new users. Thanks for adhering to the instructions. Much love 😍

#affable

Nice post and great guide for a new user.

 4 years ago 

Congratulations !

You have successfully completed achievment 2 task on "Basic Security on Steem". You can now proceed to Achivement 3 : Content Etiquette.

You have been upvoted by @bright-obias and we are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator03 account to support the newcomers coming into steemit.

Follow @steemitblog for the latest updates and news on steemit platfrom and follow @steemingcurators for find more information about new contests and events.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60111.17
ETH 2322.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53