ACHIEVEMENT 2 POST @miideadams BASIC SECURITY ON STEEMIT

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago (edited)

Good day Steemians! I'm very thankful for the warm welcome I received when I joined the group, it was very nice, I hope we all learn lots from each other, I will be using this post to complete my achievement 2 on the steemit Nursery platform, the topic is Basic Security on Steemit
Firstly I would like to appreciate @arrowgate and @amjadsherif, now let's get into the post

Have you retrieved all your keys on Steemit?

Yes, I have. It was the first thing I did when I registered. After being given all the passwords I downloaded all the keys in forms of PDFs and stored them on my Google docs and I backed them up.

Do you know each of these key functions and restrictions?

First, we have the Master Password, which is used only if we wish to change our current passwords. It must be kept very secure because loosing it means loosing the whole account.

Then there’s the Private Posting Key, that we should use daily to login to Steem so we can post, comment and upvote. However, the more it is used , the more exposed it becomes, so it should be changed from time to time.

Next, we have the Active Key, which we use if we need to make transfers between Steem users, to power up or power down our Steem or if we need to update or change any account details, like our profile picture.

We also have the Owner Key, this password can change any of our other account passwords, including the Owner Key, so we should keep it stored offline, on a file or on a notebook that only we can access.

And last but not least, the Memo Key, which we use when we have to transfer funds in order to encrypt or decrypt the memos. We should put the pound sign (#) when using it

How do you plan to keep your master password?

Since this is the most important password I saved it on my Google drive and enabled a two steps verification along side a series of security steps to ensure no one else but me has access to the master password.

Do you know how to transfer your steem token to another steem user account?

Yes I do.First, I’m supposed to access my Steem account and the access my wallet.

Screenshot_20210917-183746.png

There, I will see a section called STEEM, and a drop down menu on the right (or below, if I’m on my phone), we click and several options will show up.

Screenshot_20210915-235911.png

We click on ‘Transfer’.

A pop-up window will be shown on screen and we just need to write the user to whom we want to transfer our tokens, then the amount of tokens, we add our memo key, click Next, then we need to enter the requested password, and that’s it, tokens transferred.

Do you know how to power up your Steem?

To power up my steem, I should follow almost the same steps for transferring tokens:

Screenshot_20210915-235928.png

Go to STEEM section and click the drop down but instead of clicking ‘transfer’, I’m going to click ‘Power Up

Screenshot_20210915-173215.png

A pop-up window will show on screen, where I should write the amount, we click Power Up, then we enter the requested password and that’s it. This process is immediate, so as soon as you click Power Up, your Steem Power will rise

Thank you all for reading through my post
Love you all

This is my achievement 1 post below
https://steemit.com/hive-172186/@miideadams/introduction-of-myself-as-a-newcomer-to-steemit

Sort:  

Add one more screenshots on how to transfer steem.

 3 years ago 

I have done that, thank you

 3 years ago 

Thank you @ngoenyi for the correction. I have updated the post. Please check it....

Hi @miideadams

Congratulations, your achievement 2 is verified.

You can advance and complete Achievement 3 and meet its requirements to continue advancing and increase the opportunity to receive support from Steem Greeters and be eligible to apply for 500 SP minnowsupport.

Remember to use the #Achievement3 and #(your country) tags and post from Newcomers' Community.

I invite you to follow @steemitblog so that you are aware of the latest updates.

Rate 2

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65762.16
ETH 3485.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50