Achievement 2 Task : Basic Security On Steemit by @mememaster711

in Newcomers' Communitylast year

Hello steemians,


Untitled Template_1.jpg




I would like to thank @wilmer1988 for helping me with achievement 1 verifications. I would also thank all those that have given me a warm welcome in my first week here by commenting on my achievement 1 post.


After taking out time to research and study (especially on Youtube) to understand what steemit keys are and their various uses, I have come to a good and simple understanding of them, and I would like to take this opportunity to share this knowledge.

THE MASTER KEY:

Upon signing up to this amazing platform with my user name @mememaster711 and verification through mobile, I first received a key which I now understand to be the master key. This helped me to login into my steemit account for the first time. It also helped me to retrieve all other essential keys from my steemit wallet page.

I understand that all keys given to me are very important and have their various uses and levels of permissions and authority asigned to it.

POSTING KEY:

I use this key basically to login to my account to perform functions like: posting (as the name implies) , commenting on other peoples post, up-voting, down-voting, following people, joining in communities and a few others. So basically, it's used for social activities.

ACTIVE KEY:

This is the key which I use to login to my Steemit Wallet to perform steem transactions like: Steem transfers to other accounts, Steem Power ups and Power downs, Withdrawals of funds to a different Crypto wallet, Savings and a few others. In a nut shell, its used to perform financial activities on this platform.

OWNER KEY:

This is said to be the most powerful key, or as powerful as the master key. Therefore I don't show or give this key to anyone. As such I have stored it offline. I can use this key to change all other keys and also recover my account incase of any compromise of account.

MEMO KEY:

Based on my knowledge of the memo key, its main purpose is to encrypt and decrypt private messages sent through the STEEM Blockchain.


DIFFERENCE BETWEEN MASTER AND OWNER KEY:


Upon reading about it from the beginning, both seemed to perform a similar function, but further study on it made me realize that the Master key is basically what is given to you initially and used to reveal all other essential keys.
Whiles the Owner key is what is used to recover and change keys incase of compromises.

SAFETY OF MY STEEMIT ACCOUNT:

I learnt that steemit cannot recover account incase you forget or misplace password or keys. As such it is a rule that "Do not forget or misplace password". Once its gone, its gone for good.
So I have hand written all my keys and stored them in a safe.
I have also backed it up on a cloud storage and a pendrive which is also in a safe.

HOW I TRANFER STEEM FUNDS TO OTHER ACCOUNTS:

  1. I first login to my Steemit wallet.
  2. I click on steem drop down button
  3. I click on transfer funds

Screenshot_20230807-134446.png


  1. Transfer to account page will Open
  2. I type in the username of the account am sending to in the To box.
  3. I type in the amount am sending to in the amount box
  4. If am sending to another platform, I use the memo key of that platform account to encrypt my transaction .
  5. Then finally I click send.

Screenshot_20230807-134532.png

TO POWER UP:

  1. I first login to my Steemit wallet.
  2. I click on steem drop down button
  3. I click on transfer funds

Screenshot_20230807-135933.png

  1. I click on Power Up

Screenshot_20230807-135943.png

  1. Convert to Steem Power Page pops up
  2. I type in the amount of steem I want to convert.
  3. Then I click on Power up

TO POWER DOWN:

  1. I first login to my Steemit Wallet
  2. I click on the Steem Power drop down button

Screenshot_20230807-135952.png

  1. I click on Power down

Screenshot_20230807-140009.png

  1. I type in the amount I want to power down
  2. Then I click on Power down


Dear steemians, thank you very much for spending time to read my post on achievement 2. I hope you find it helpful. Love you all and hope to hear from you in the comments section. Stay safe.

Sort:  
 last year 

Thank you for publishing your post a warm welcome from @crowd1, thank you for your delightful and lovely article, you have good writing skills✍️. Join our vibrant steemit community for engaging discussions, valuable insights, and exciting contests! Connect with fellow steemians and unlock endless possibilities. Let's grow together! JoinOurCommunityCrowd1
aea6e690-746c-4e65-8721-0eaf96ddb4d8.gif
Crowd1 booster community
Happy writing and good fortune🤝

Congratulations ...

Your Achievement 2 task has been verified. Please continue to Achievement 3 task.

Alumni November 2022

Important for you:
I invite you to join #club5050 #club75 and #club100 by powering up steem from the rewards your Post. You can read the steps to join here

Regards @heriadi

Note :

All achievement task posts are posted only once. if your post has not been verified, you should be patient and make sure for mention the greeter to verify your achievement task.
You are also expected to be active in other communities to publish posts and comment on other users' posts

Use Steem in your wallet to build Steem Power as an investment for the future

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58672.01
ETH 2437.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44