Achievement 2 basic security on steemit.

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago

20211212_130240.jpg]()
Merry Christmas and happy new year hope we celebrating thes season well.
Learning about security of my keys are important to me. Achievement 2 post has helped to train me on how to manage and secure my Steemit account.

QUESTION ONE
Yes.I have obtained my keys.The master Password,the Posting key,the Active key,the Memo key.

QUESTION TWO
The keys and their functions.Each key has its main function.I will list them here.

•MASTER PASSWORD
This is used to generate the other keys.It is also used to change the posting keys,active keys,owners keys etc.

•POSTING KEY
The Posting key is used for everyday log in into the account.It allows the user post, comment,vote,resteem.

•ACTIVE KEY
This key is used for very sensitive activities such as powering up, powering down,transferring funds and voting for witnesses.

•OWNER KEY
The owner is barely used but it's Importance cannot be over emphasized.It can be used to recover a compromised account.

•MEMO KEY
This key is basically used for encrypting and decrypting memo during transfer of funds.

QUESTION THREE
How I plan to save my master password.I saved my master password on my email, google drive and hand written documentation. Also on safe folder on my phone.

QUESTION FOUR
Yes I can transfer Steem from my account to another user.Here is the procedure with pictures.

•Log into your account.Select WALLET

•Click in the drop down on STEEM

Screenshot_20211225-122014_Chrome.jpg

Select TRANSFER

Screenshot_20211225-122538_Chrome.jpg

Enter the name of the reciever and the amount of Steem.Click in NEXT and Complete the transaction by entering your Active key.

QUESTION FIVE
I have learnt how to power up.To power up means to convert steem to SteemPower.
Here is the procedure below
•Log into your account
•Click on Wallet and Click on the drop down on STEEM

Screenshot_20211225-122014_Chrome.jpg

Select POWER UP

Screenshot_20211225-123048_Chrome.jpg
Then click on Power up and Complete the process by entering your Active key.
I know the Importance of security on my keys, keeping them safe, secured and the uses of each key.I learnt how to transfer Steem and how to power up,once again happy Christmas to you all.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Hi, @mbae,

Your post has been supported by the the Steem Greeter Team.

This achievement is very important in our Steemit journey. You needed to understand clearly the different important keys and their functions in the Steemit wallet. Be sure to store your keys safely. For the latest updates and important announcements, don't forget to follow @steemitblog and visit the Steemit Crypto Academy for you to learn about cryptocurrency.

You have been verified for this task and you may now proceed to Achievement 3: Content Etiquette at your convenience. Please refer to the guide on the Newcomers Achievement Program on the Notice Board pinned post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64599.25
ETH 3467.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55