Achievement 2 @majerius Task : Basic Security on SteemsteemCreated with Sketch.

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago

Hello steemians, as concerns security on steemit, we have various keys. Such as the owner key, posting key, memo key and active key. All these keys, I have retrieved them on steemit and kept them safe.😌 They have the following functions
The posting key is used to login and for posting, upvoting, resteeming and also commenting and editing posts. I use this key each time I want to post on steemit

The active key in it's side is used for somehow private transactions or operations like powering up or down, transferring of steem dollars, updating profile details, voting for witnesses and also placing market orders. Each time I want to power up my steem I use this key

The owner key or "power key" as I call it can modify all other keys and is used to change any key of my account. I used this key to upload my profile picture and also edit my personal info.

The memo key is used to encrypt and decrypt transactions when transferring funds. I often use this key to secure my transactions to another account by simply adding a # before it
Every key mentioned above has its own restrictions but the general restriction is that the key should be private and not shared with anybody.

My master key is kept very jealously, I made a printed copy of it and also kept it in my hard drive and flash disk drive. This particular key is very important to me.
To transfer steem to another account, I click on my wallet, and later I click on the first little downfacing arrow where the steem is. After that I choose "transfer" another page comes up where I input the recipient name and amount. Once that done, I input my active key and it's done.

Screenshot_20210302-151800.png

Screenshot_20210302-152627.png

To power up steem, I firstly go to my steem wallet and locate the steem section. Then I press on the little down arrow which will display a variety of options including "power up" I click on power up and another page pops up. I then input the amount to be powered up in the space, input my active key in the space in the second page and it's done

Screenshot_20210302-151800.png

Thank you for going through my post

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

You have been upvoted by @njaywan and I’m voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator03 account to support the newcomers coming into steemit. You may now proceed to the next achievement task.


Keep following @steemitblog for updates.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59179.00
ETH 2969.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75