Achievement 2 application : Basic Security on Steem | mentor: @cryptokannon

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemers,

I've joined Steemit over a month ago and I'm honored to be a part of Steemit Community and having a chance to share interests with Steemit members and learn more about others.

I'd like to give special thanks to @cryptokannon for delivering all the details about Steemit for Newcomers and for providing the support along the way.

On the very start of your Steemit journey you'll notice the importance of your keys on the platform, why it's of the essence to keep it safe and understanding of your steemit wallet. Moving forward, I'll share with you guys my experiences about keys and wallet, how to differentiate all of the keys and how is actually simple to use your Steemit wallet.

Achievement2.png

Q1: Have you retrieve all your keys on steemit?

I understood how important is to save my keys right upon registration on Steemit. I saved all of my keys and made sure that I'm the only one to have access to it.

Q2: Do you know each of these key function and restrictions?

There are several keys listed, all with a different permissions, so it's important to understand each one of them and to use it in accordance with actions we are taking within our account.

Posting Key

Posting Key is meant for every day use, which means that it allows you to preform most of the actions on Steemit such as actions you would take on any other Social Media platform - Posting Key allows you to post, comment, vote other posts, interact with other members and even edit your posts.

Active Key

As the name of the key indicates, Active Key is used for specific set of actions you would make on your Steemit account. Unlike the previous mentioned key, Active Key is used for permissions such as transferring funds, power Up or power down your Steem power, exchanging Steem Dollars, setting market orders, updating profile and voting for witnesses.

Memo Key

Memo Key is used for another way of security actions - encryption and decryption of memos when moving funds.

Owner Key

Owner key is the most powerful key, it gives you the option to change any key of your account, if needed to. It's strongly recommended to be kept offline, therefore I got my Owner Key saved and locked along with other of my valuables. Keep it private!

Master Password

Master Password will keep your account safe as long as you take care of it in a proper way. It has ability to generate all other keys in case an account has been compromised or in any other case where Steemit account needs to be recovered. If you take care of Master Key in a right way, it will take care of you and your account if ever needed.

Q3: How do you plan to keep your master password?

I understand how all the keys are important, especially Master Password so I got it locked up along with other of my valuables. I got it saved on two flush drives, just in case...

Q4: Do you know how to transfer your steem token to another Steem user account?

I'd like to thank @kiwiscanfly for making it easy to understand and thank to @cryptokannon for pointing me to the right direction once again!

By clicking on Profile > Wallet and clicking on STEEM, drop down menu shows up. If we want to send Steem to another user, click on "Transfer" > Type in an account where we want to send Steem to and choose desired amount. Just in a few clicks we can make someone's day!

Q5: Do you know how to power up your STEEM?

Power UP is important on Steemit. I understand that more Steem Power I have I can contribute more with upvotes, for others and for myself as well!

Power UP is pretty much all I've been doing within my Steem Wallet, so that's why I got 0,001 STEEM sitting in my account :)

In order to do a Power up, got to your Wallet > STEEM and again, drop down menu will appear. From there click on Power Up.

powerUP.PNG

You'll be then taken to another page where you'll type in the desired amount > Power UP and you are ready to go! Make sure to use Active Key when you power up.

powerUP1.PNG

Thank you for taking time to read my post and consideration to upgrade my account to Achievement 2.

I'm looking forward to your reply,

Marko Ilic @lupusdesign

Sort:  

Hi keep on publish your content. You may join Steemit Nursery community too. Then try to apply for 500SP Minnow Support Program for Newcomers(Revised Edition) updated on 24/5/2021 once you completed your Achievement 4.

 3 years ago 

Hi there @cryptokannon ! I've lost my momentum for a brief moment, it was busy at work lately and I'm trying to figure out whether I'm going to the right direction when it comes to interior design, it's not only my niche it's a way of life. Thank you for your suggestion, I will try with that and thanks once again for being supportive. I'll be back with more quality content.

@lupusdesign ok good to hear you're doing fine, you may publish your post at Steemit Nursery community for more exposure on your post. Try to complete until at least achievement 4 so you may get into the 500 sp support program.

 3 years ago 

You have been upvoted by @saxopedia and I’m voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator03 account to support the newcomers coming into steemit.

Follow @steemitblog for the latest update on Steem Community.

 3 years ago 

Thank you, I appreciate your support.

Hi i am Sumit one of the team member of Steem Greeter.

I am happy to announce that i have successfully verified your achievement 2 post. Now you are eligible for performing your achievement 3 which is about content etiquettes. You can refer this post for your next task.

Note: Try to be improve your presentation.

Rate: 2

 3 years ago 

Thank you for upgrading me to Achievement 2 and for the follow up. Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36