ACHIEVEMENT 2 BY @lucychinenye: BASIC SECURITY ON STEEM

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago (edited)

Hello steemians!!
I trust you all are great. I am back again with my second Achievement.

I joined steemit about a week ago after introducing my self(Achievement 1) And I have been enjoying this platform, honestly speaking this is the best platform I have seen and join so far, and I hope to grow fast and far in it, but you know in order for this to be possible I will need all your supports and love and I promise to do my best.
Since I joined steemit I have been studying and making my research on how to be a good steemian and today am back with my #Achievment 2: the basis security on steem

download-4.jpg

This has thought me how to manage and secure my account from any intruder.

What is security?

SECURITY : security is the act of securing ones self and property from external harm and frauds.
Security is a situation where something or someone is protected, saved and secured from harm. Therefore security is important for steemians, it is essential for all steemit users to secure their password and keys from fraudsters.

In addiction the basic security on steemite is how you manage and secure your steemite accounts from fraudster (because there are fraudsters looking for ways to steal peoples funds)

Question 1
Have you Retrieve All Your Keys On Steemit?
~Yes I have retrieved all my keys, and they include :
Posting keys
Active keys
Memo keys
Owner keys
Master keys

images.png
https://www.google.com/search?q=basic+security+on+steem&client=ms-opera-mini-android&channel=new&sxsrf=ALeKk02NuNPXPaU7pDqoA2rgWdIjaqtEGQ:1620484411675&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwje1-LtprrwAhVRTsAKHb6aBGQQ_AUIBigB&biw=360&bih=562#&biw=360&bih=618&biw=360&bih=562&biw=360&bih=618

Question 2

  • Do you know each Of these Keys Functions And Restrictions?*

~Yes I know their functions and restrictions

POSTING KEYS:

This is the first and most used key on steemit. It is generally used for posting, commenting on peoples posts, upvoting, editing, following and muting others.
The posting key has a limited permission, steemians cannot post without their posting key. It is used for social communication in steemit

ACTIVE KEYS:
This is one of the important and sensitive key in steemit.
It is mainly used for transferring of funds from one account to another, changing of tokens, converting of money(dollars) power up and down transaction, this key is mainly for transaction purposes, you can't transfer money without this key

OWNER KEY:

This is another powerful key in steemit,
The owner key has the power to change other keys, it is used to recover your account if missing, it is safer and best if it is saved both online and offline.

MEMO KEYS:
This key is not as important as other keys, but it is necessary. it is used for encrypting and decrypting of memos like transferring funds.

Master key

Master key is the most important key and the first one given to the user to derive all the keys for the account. As the key implies master key, it is the master key of your account

Question 3

Why should you be careful with my master password?
It is important I am careful with my master key because it is used to derive all keys for my account, including the owner key.
*If someone has access to your master key, they can steal your account, change your keys and all the funds in it.

*The master key is different from the owner key, it is used to generate all other key including the owner key(In case you lost it) *
Your master key is not for everyday use , you only use it to recover your account and keys, The master key should be stored both online and offline, And should be used in terms of emergency.

QUESTION 4:

  • How do you plan to keep your master password?*

~As you all know, this keys are very important and its important it is kept save with you alone where it will be free from fraudsters and intruders who might want to steal your funds.
I plan to save my keys both only and offline in my Google drive and diary.

QUESTION 5
Do you know how to transfer your steem token to other user?

Yes I know how to transfer my steem to another user.

1st step you logout of your posting account , go to your wallet and sign in with your active key.

Screenshot_20210508-161259.png

Screenshot_20210508-160717.png

Screenshot_20210508-160908.png

then go to steem and click on transfer you can see other options there, like to power up your steem power etc

Screenshot_20210508-160926.png

Screenshot_20210508-161420.png

2nd step
You type the steem account name you are transferring the funds to and the amount you are transferring too.
You can add a memo (not compulsory, it shows the reason for the transfer. After this you click on next and then OK (sent)
your token will be sent to your preferred destination.

Screenshot_20210508-160947.png

Question 5
Do You Know How To Power Up Steem?

Yes I do know how too power up my steem power
~ click on your steem, you will see different option including power up simply click on the power up steem, select the amount you want to power up then click on power up and its done✅

Screenshot_20210508-161401.png

Screenshot_20210508-161451.png

Screenshot_20210508-161058.png

In addition, the more steempower you have, the more influence you will have on the platform.

My achievement 1:
https://steemit.com/hive-172186/@lucychinenye/achievement-1-my-introduction-post-mentored-by-ezeemmanuel

Thank You @cryptokannon for your guidiance and teachings

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

I appreciate

 3 years ago 

Congratulations !

You have successfully completed achievment 2 task on "Basic Security on Steem". You can now proceed to Achivement 3 : Content Etiquette.

Curation Rate - 3


Follow @steemitblog for the latest updates and news on steemit platfrom and follow @steemingcurators for find more information about new contests and events.

 3 years ago 

Thanks alot

 3 years ago 

You have been upvoted by @yohan2on, a curator and a member of the steemPOD project. We are voting using the steemcurator03 to support newcomers participating in the Newcomers achievement program.

Thanks for responding to the achievement task 2: understanding the basic security of a steem account. You may now proceed to other achievement tasks.

Always follow @ steemitblog for updates on steemit

 3 years ago 

Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64622.42
ETH 3518.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46