ACHIEVEMENT 2 STEEMIT BASIC SECURITY by @konkaar

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago

Good day fellow steemians. I must say that I’m glad I made it a decision to be part of this wonderful community. After going through the basic security on steemit and having finished my achievement one, I will be summarizing what I have learnt so far.

keys.jpg
source

Security is very critical in safeguarding one’s valuable data, assets from any kind of damage, theft or loss. This ensures privacy and also ensures only legitimate owners or staffs can give approval permission. As a matter of fact, ensuring the security of user’s data within the steemit community is tantamount.

DIFFERENT KEYS AND THEIR FUNCTIONS

There are five basic keys on steemit that helps user’s account safety, functionality and authentications within the steemit block chain system. These keys are used for authentication, encryption and decryption of data instead of password-based authentications where passwords are used. The keys may either be public or private, with the public keys associated with usernames and are used to verify messages whereas the private ones are used for authorizing transactions within one’s account. Below are these keys;

POSTING KEY: This key allows users to be able to log into their steemit account and engage in various daily activities such as posting of contents, commenting, voting peoples post, muting and following others.

OWNER KEY: As the name implies, in case one account is compromised, this key is needed to show ownership and recover it and also help reset all other keys within 30 days. Hence it is only used when the need rises and is recommended to backup it offline.

ACTIVE KEY: This key is used for one’s wallet related activities and hence should be treated with care. Monetary activities such as transferring of funds, powering STEEM up and down, placing market order and even converting steem dollars

MEMO KEY: This key is used during funds transactions between accounts. It is used for encrypting and decrypting memos during funds transfer.

MASTER PASSWORD: In case one loses his or her Owners key, this master password can be used since it is gotten at the end of creating an account on steemit and the seed password used to generate the document containing all the other keys. You should never share this key.

HOW I’M KEEPING THE KEYS SAVED

Immediately I created my account and had received the document containing the keys, I quickly uploaded it to my google drive as backup to be able to access it anywhere and anytime without difficulty. I also saved it well on my phone and laptop where I alone can have access to. It is important to save it at a place no third party can see it.

HOW TO TRANSFER TOKENS FROM MY ACCOUNT TO ANOTHER STEEM ACCOUNT

With the help of my friend @blessingkasabe, I have learnt how to transfer tokens to another user account.

  1. First of all, I will log in my wallet using my Active key and username
  2. I will click on STEEM arrow dropdown and select transfer.

IMG-20210509-WA0012.jpg

  1. I will then type in the username of the recipient, enter amount and then create a memo in the memo section, summit and confirm with my active key. By now transfer is already successful.

Screenshot_20210509-113547.png

CONVERTING STEEM TO STEEM POWER

Steem Power shows one’s investment in Steemit. It largely determines the influence one has on his or her post and others post. It can either be powered up or down. Powering up increases once account influence. Powering down takes 4 weeks and that is converting Steem Powe to Steem. One must note that STEEM-POWER is non transferable. To power-up;

  1. I will log in to my wallet and sign in with my username and active key
  2. I will then click on STEEM arrow dropdown
  3. Select and click on power up from the dropdown menu

IMG-20210509-WA0011.jpg

  1. I will then enter my desired amount to convert and click on power-up to confirm

Screenshot_20210509-120432.png

Special thanks to @blessingkasabe and @njaywan for all the help so far through my achievement. I appreciate all who took time out of their busy schedule to read, comment and vote my post.

  Thanks for reading my achievement 2

Cc:
@trafagar
@njaywan
@yohan2on
@bright-obias
@saxopedia

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

You have been verified for this task and you may proceed to the next achievement task at your convenience.
Please visit this post for the guidance of your next Achievement

Rating: 2

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16