Achievement 6 Task by @kofimaestro : Understanding Curation and Community

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago (edited)

Hello fellow Steemians,

I am truly happy to achieve this length on the steemit blockchain. As I registered for the first time, I was more interested in the earning aspect of steemit. After @cherub27 showed me what I was expected to do as a newcomer, I was taken aback. How will I be able to do all these achievement tasks? Aren't they much time consuming? After some months I did my first achievement post and as I went through the other achievement tasks, the journey became more interesting. In all these I thank @njaywan, @mcsamm and @cherub27.

Achievement 6.gif
Designed by @kofimaestro

How voting and Curation work on steemit

The steemit blockchain has dedicated some amount of rewards for its users. These rewards are distributed when a post is created by a steemit user and voted on by curators for a 7-day period. The quality of a post determines the amount of votes one will receive from curators. Curators or voters vote on comments or post and delegate rewards from the reward pool to users who share quality contents. The amount of reward a curator can share depends on the curator's SP, thus, the more SP one has, the more rewards one can give out.

After the 7 day voting period, the author of the post or comment receives 50% of the total rewards while the curators receive 50% of the rewards as curation rewards.

I would therefore say Yes, I understand how voting and curation work on steemit.

Voting before 5 minutes marks after a post
.
The 50% curator reward after the payout time is determined by the time of voting during a particular time period and/or curators SP.

A curator will receive an amount less than 100% of the 50% curator rewards when he/she votes before or during the first five minutes of the post/comment.
As said by @cryptokannon in her post;

The 50% curator rewards is calculated based on the time of vote cast with 100% of the curator rewards remaining in the pool by upvoting at the moment of posting.
@cryptokannon

  • At the first minute, 20% of the rewards go to the curator and 80% is left in the reward pool.
  • In the second minute, 40% of rewards go to the curator and 80% is left in reward pool.
  • In the third minute, 60% of rewards go to curator and 40% is left in the reward pool.
  • In the 4th minute, 80% and 20% to curator and reward pool respectively.
  • In the 5th minute and anytime after a post, a curator gets 100% of the curation rewards.

Curators with high SP only can gain at this time since reward is calculated based on the SP distributed during the vote.

Voting Witnesses

Steem witnesses are people (steemians) who create blocks every 3seconds on the steem blockchain to keep the system functional and also serve as governing board on the steem ecosystem.

In voting for a witness, I would choose @steemchiller over the other witnesses. They are all doing marvelously well but @steemchiller has created a very useful steem tool, steemworld, which has helped me a lot in keeping track of my steem account. I believe a vote at anytime will help in bettering his efforts on the steem ecosystem.

Screenshot_20210521-110735_Chrome.jpg

Screenshot from steemworld

Joining a community

Each steemian has got one or two things which interests him/her most. These interests decides which community on the blockchain to join.
In joining a community, I would at all times consider the number of active subscribers and the quality of contents. The subscribers will help in getting quick visits, comments and up votes that will enable me to better myself. Also, the quality of the content to my interest will help me learn a lot. Aside these I will join a community based on my geological background.

Based on these criteria, I joined communities such as;
World of football
Steem Ghana
Dance and music
Newcomers' Community
Writings & Reviews and many others.

Thank you for your attention

Cc:
@njaywan
@oppongk
@nattybongo

Sort:  
 3 years ago (edited)

Please your post has been verified, compile all your Achievement tasks post and write post with them. Thank you for participating in the Achievement tasks greeter course.

Curation rate: 2

 3 years ago 

Thank you.

 3 years ago (edited)

Superb.
Keep doing your best.

 3 years ago 

Nice

 3 years ago 

Thank you.

You are doing great job bro

 3 years ago 

Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67402.68
ETH 3481.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65