Achievement Task #1: A Few Things To Get To Know Me

in Newcomers' Community2 years ago (edited)

20170325_092546-01.jpeg

This is a long overdue post since I've been here on Steemit since 2017 and was active for a year. Then I became active again by joining the Diary Game Season II. I had had my short introduction before I joined season II. I thought that was enough. Just last month, Sir @juichi encouraged us Steemit Philippines Moderators to participate in the verification process in the Newcomer's Community. I have this on my mind but was preoccupied until I recently remembered it this week.

So here it goes...


photo_2022-03-16_00-25-39.jpg

Hi everyone!

I'm Caryl from the Lanao del Norte, Philippines--the Land of Beauty and Bounty--but currently residing in Cavite. I'm a twenty-something fur momma of doggos and cattos. At the moment, I have seven doggos and three cattos.

I'm the eldest in the pack of four girls. One of my sisters is here on Steemit, too. She goes by the username @goiinmary. Speaking of username, kneelyrac is just my name jumbled so I can have a pen name. I just mentioned my first name, Caryl. Now, my second name is Keen. So kneelyrac is Caryl Keen.

My poker face Papan, the snob
That's my baby shark, Yuki

I graduated from Mindanao State University - Iligan Institute of Technology with a degree in BS Electronics and Communications Engineering. I'm currently working in an IoT company, but I'm hoping to work in a semiconductor company or in a company located on the 10th floor onwards. I'm a province girl, so a cityscape is one of my dreams. But of course, nothing beats living in the province.

Taken during the last conference I attended in my previous work
Taken during my second travel to Siargao with my classmates in high school

I love to travel. Because of my previous work, I experienced traveling to different places in our country for free and with allowance. Cool, right? But because of the pandemic, I haven't continued exploring the beautiful beaches in our country.


Hobbies


Reading

IMG_20210227_133251_250-01.jpeg
This was taken during my birthday last year. I gifted myself with four poetry books.

I'm a reader. This hobby started when I was in fourth grade. I was into poetry at that time (until now, by the way). But now, I'm more of crime, mystery, thriller: these are my cup of tea. I also love reading romance and fantasy. Though any genre will do as long as it intrigues me.

I also fell in love with the beauty of audiobooks, especially when I'm doing chores. It keeps me entertained.

Art

  • Calligraphy

IMG_20210601_141329-01.jpeg Wrote this right after my newly ordered walnut ink arrived.

Calligraphy was introduced to me indirectly by @junebride. I will always say this: she inspires me to do calligraphy. I still consider myself a newbie in this department, but I am proud I learned the basics and even enrolled myself in a workshop.

  • Painting

IMG_20210625_032236-01-01.jpeg After months of practice, I finally painted an eye.

Aside from learning how to cook, painting is one of my achievements unlocked during the pandemic. I am not good with colors so I challenged myself to paint using watercolor as the medium. Surprisingly, I got hooked up and started loving it. I enjoyed playing and blending the colors.


Steemit Journey


I started my blogging journey in 2017. I was on a different platform back then, Bitlanders. Then I saw @g10a, @long888, and @junebride talking about another blogging platform in the comment section. I immediately signed up until I finished reading silently. That's when I became a Steemian.

Back then, I was extra active. I even wrote my blogs on the phone while I was on the way to my workplace or at home. I posted two posts every day until work became hectic. I applied for a higher position, and I've been doing overtime and overnight almost everyday and weekend. That's when I stopped my blogging journey. My body can't cope with the level of stress both physically and mentally. I had to travel every day for 45 to 60 minutes and wait for the bus to arrive for an hour or two.

IMG_20210406_170512-01.jpeg Random snap I took when I was in Ayala Cebu City

The pandemic came when I became anxious about everything. Well, we all are, aren't we? I didn't feel like doing anything. Even reading and doing arts didn't flutter my heart. Not until Auntie @olivia08 messaged me out of nowhere and started encouraging me to go back to blogging. She was so convincing and it made me happy she thinks I'm good at writing. She never gave up on telling me to go back, and that's when I joined the Diary Game Season II. Because of that, I was back to reading and doing arts again. I even found new friends because of the diary game.

Now, my schedule becomes more and more hectic. However, this will not be the reason to be on hiatus again. I've been juggling different things these days, but I'll see to it that I'll continue to be here on Steemit. It may not be the first site where I started writing, but it was the reason why I survived in my previous work with a salary good for my everyday transportation and meal.

Before I end this introduction, these are some of the things to get to know me more:


Books


20210603_091557_0-01.jpeg These are some of my books.

  1. Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling
  2. The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo
  3. The Giver Series by Lois Lowry
  4. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas
  5. Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco

Anime


FB_IMG_1423277847688-01.jpeg
I doodle this a very long time ago, and Waling is my nickname, by the way.

  1. One Piece
  2. Jujutsu Kaisen
  3. Assassination Classroom
  4. Fushigi Yuugi
  5. Donten ni Warau

Food


IMG_20210404_143541-01.jpeg Taken in Fat Dois located in Parkmall, Mandaue City

  1. Carbonara
  2. Bicol Express
  3. Budae Jjigae
  4. Takoyaki
  5. Anything with cheese

Guess that would be all guys!


kneelyrac.png

K N E E L Y R A C
InstagramTwitterGoodreads

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Hi, @kneelyrac,

Your post has been supported by @event-horizon from the Steem Greeter Team.

 2 years ago 

Thank you! :)

 2 years ago (edited)

Greetings to you @kneelyrac,
You have been verified for this task and you may now advance to Achievement 2: Basic Security on Steem at your convenience. Please refer to the guide on the Newcomers Achievement Program on the Notice Board pinned post.

Curators Rate-3

 2 years ago 

Salamat, Sir!

 2 years ago 

Grabe ka talented gyud ning bayhana. 🙂

 2 years ago 

hehe, salamat sis.

Mura kog nag basa ug blog sa bitlanders, super nice!

 2 years ago 

Hehe salamat sir. Makamingaw pod baya tong mga ratings ni Miss Hillary. hahahaha

 2 years ago 

you looking so beautiful.

Loading...
Loading...

Hello @kneelyrac, I am very happy that you are active on steemit. Reading your presentation, I think you have great potential to join the [DraftCrearte] community (https://steemit.com/trending/hive-109427), I invite you to visit it and if you have any questions you can reach me at litzney discord #2144

 2 years ago 

Oh, thank you for this! Will check this community now.

 2 years ago 

bienvenida corazon te deseo lo mejor en steemit

 2 years ago 

Thank you! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63850.79
ETH 3415.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46