Achievement 2: Understanding basic security on steemit blockchain by @kimora996

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago (edited)

As a newly admitted 100level student, I didn't know my left from right. I just carry my backpack and water bottle in my hand, walking from pillar to post. Luckily for me, a student who looks older than 25 years approached and asked me what department I was looking for. Physiotherapy Department, I said.

He then asked me to follow him which I did and while we were walking down, he asked whether I've heard of the word "STEEMIT" I told him "no" and asked what it was all about. He gave me a printout and asked me to read through it. I did read through and asked him to clarify because I saw a lot of unfamiliar words and terms.

He began to explain the terms and words to me and although I didn't understand all of them. After much explanation, I was able to understand everything in the printout. I can confidently answer the questions on how to safeguard my keys.

WhatsApp Image 2021-09-30 at 9.07.06 PM.jpeg
Image Source

In other to be completely certain, he decided to turn it to question and answer game from what I read. So he asked:

  • Have you retrieved all your keys on steemit?

I replied; "Yes, I have retrieved all my keys on Steemit."

  • Do you know each of these key functions and restrictions?

I replied, "Yes, I know all the keys, their functions, and restrictions." The Posting key allows me to post, edit, comment, vote, resteem, follow, and/or mute other accounts. The Active key allows me to perform more sensitive tasks like transfer funds, power up/down transactions, convert steem dollars, witness vote, update my profile details and even place a market order. The Owner key which is the most powerful of all keys is used only when necessary. It can be used to change any key of an account, including the owner key too. The Memo key allows me to encrypt or decrypt memos when transferring funds.

Now he was so impressed and asked further;

  • How do you plan to keep your master password?

I replied; "I'll print it out and keep it in a safe where nobody else can see it."

  • Do you know how to transfer your steem token to another steem user account?

I replied; "Of course, I know how to. I just click on the down arrow next to the number of steem tokens held in the wallet section of my steem account, then I click transfer in the drop-down box. After this I enter the name of the account to which I want to transfer the steem token, number of tokens and a memo (not necessary unless required), then I click next. I enter a memo on the confirmation screen that appears and then click 'okay' to confirm".

Here are screenshots below on how I transfer to another steem. NOTE; Username scribbled to protect anonymous user.
Step One; I logged into my steemit wallet with my private active key. Clicked on the arrow under STEEM to transfer my token.

WhatsApp Image 2021-09-30 at 9.37.30 PM.jpeg
Screenshot gotten from my steemit wallet

Step Two; I put in the username of the receiving account and the number of token. Due to insufficient funds I would be transferring Zero steem.

WhatsApp Image 2021-09-30 at 9.37.30 PM (1).jpeg
Screenshot gotten from my steemit wallet

Step Three; Entered Next to confirm transaction

WhatsApp Image 2021-09-30 at 9.37.30 PM (2).jpeg
Screenshot gotten from my steemit wallet

By now we have gotten to the place he said it's the Department of Physiotherapy. But he needed to ask one last question before we departed. He asked;

  • Do you know how to power up your steem?

I smiled and replied; "Yes, I know how to power up my steem. I simply repeat the same procedure with transferring token, just that I click on 'power up' token instead of 'transfer token', then I enter the quantity of steem and click on 'power up'.

Here are screenshots below on how I power up my steem.

Step One; I logged into my steemit wallet with my private active key. Clicked on the arrow under STEEM to power up my steem.

iMarkup_20211002_100420.jpg
Screenshot gotten from my steemit wallet

Step Two; I clicked on Power up.

iMarkup_20211002_100345.jpg
Screenshot gotten from my steemit wallet

Step Three; Then I entered the number of token to be powered up

iMarkup_20211002_100301.jpg
Screenshot gotten from my steemit wallet

After this, we exchanged contacts and parted ways.

@dayographix
@beckie98630
@whitestallion

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Please represent Question 5 using screenshots just as you did in Questions 4

 3 years ago 

Ok,thanks for the correction.

 3 years ago 

Hi, @kimora996,

Your post has been supported by @bright-obias from the Steem Greeter Team.

 3 years ago 

Seen,thanks sir

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57940.42
ETH 2359.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36