Achievement 2 @khamara Task: Basic Security on SteemsteemCreated with Sketch.

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago

I've heard stories of people's accounts getting hacked and tampered with. I've never had any experience personally but from what I've seen it do to people I'd never want to experience that, ever.
I'm glad steemit creators had the foresight to make our individual accounts tamper proof. The hierarchical keys system is GENIUS!

Question 1

Have you retrieved all your keys on steemit?

Answer

Yes, I have.

Question 2

Do you know each of these key functions and restrictions?

Answer

Yes, I do. The keys are;

  • Power Key: This is used to log in and perform social actions like comment, edit, post, etc. It isn't used for financial actions.
  • Active Key: This key is used to carry out financial actions like transferring funds, power up/ down transactions, voting for witnesses, etc.
  • Owner Key: This key is the most important. It can change any key of any account and can be used to retrieve accounts.
  • Memo Key: This key is used for memo encryption and decryption during funds transfer.
  • Public Key: This can be used to look through transactions.

Question 3

How do you plan to keep your master password?

Answer

I have copied it to a document app on my phone and sent it to my other devices for safe keeping so unless an unknown virus hits every device I own simultaneously and scrambles everything in them, my master password is safe.

Question 4

Do you know how to transfer your steem token to another steem user account?

Answer

Yes, I do;

  • Open your profile
  • Click on wallet
  • Click on the steem balance

PhotoGrid_Plus_1610496345383.jpg

  • Click "transfer"

PhotoGrid_Plus_1610496666507.jpg

  • Fill in the required spaces, click next and conclude transaction.

Screenshot_20210113-001435.png

Question 5

Do you know how to power up your steem?

Answer

Yes, I do;

  • Go to profile
  • Click on wallet
  • Click on the steem balance
  • Click "power up"

PhotoGrid_Plus_1610496629662.jpg

  • Fill in the blank spaces and click power up again, your steem has been powered up!

Screenshot_20210113-002125.png

Special thanks to;
@cryptokannon
@whitestallion
@steemcurator01
@steemcurator02
@steemcurator03

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Glad to see your progress

 3 years ago 

Congratulations on your progress, your achievement 2 post has been verified and you can proceed to the next Achievement post.

You have been upvoted by @whitestallion and I’m voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator03 account to support the newcomers coming into steemit.

Follow @steemitblog for the latest update on Steem Community.

 3 years ago 

Thank you!😊

 3 years ago 

Congratulations on your progress, a comprehensive knowledge about the security infrastructure of steemit is very essential for your progress. You did a great.

 3 years ago 

Thanks 🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83