Achievement 2 Task by @justvalerie: "Basic security on steem"

Good day, Steemians. This is a post showing how well I've mastered my keys after going through the wonderful posts written by @kiwiscanfly and @cryptokannon.
After carefully going through them, I was able to understand the uses of the various keys I was given, why they should be protected and how to carry out actions on my wallet better.
I must admit that I really needed this as I opened my wallet earlier and got confused, you have no idea😂
I know now that we're given different keys for different purposes for security reasons to avoid using the same key for all functions.

Have you retrieved all your keys on steemit?

I was able to retrieve all my keys after successfully creating my account.
I was also advised to download them as a PDF file which I gladly did.

Do you know each of these key functions and restrictions?

I can now say I know each key functions and I'm proud of myself after my initial confusion. I really do hate feeling lost😒
The different keys include;

  • Master password: You get this first when you successfully create your account and is used to retrieve the other keys. It comes into use if you're in the process of recovering your account. This should be kept very well.

  • Private owner key: This is used to reset all the other keys and is best kept offline most times. It can be used to recover one's account.

  • Private memo key: This is used to encrypt memos and view encrypted memos.

  • Private active key: This is used to transfer funds, power steem up or down, voting witnesses, changing things on one's profile, placing an order in the market.

  • Private posting key: This is used to log into one's account, make a post or comment and also edit either, resteeming a post, following, unfollowing or muting people.

How do you plan to keep your master password?
I plan on keeping it safe by keeping an offline copy written on a piece of paper along with my very important documents in a file.

Do you know how to transfer your steem token to another steem user account?
I will explain this using a screenshot of my wallet below

Screenshot_20210412-193325_1618254946642.jpg

To transfer steem token, click on the downward pointed arrow beside it like I did and then click on transfer after which you type the receiver's username in the space provided, click on send and input your private active key.

Do you know how to power up your STEEM?

Screenshot_20210410-132801_1618254988845.jpg

Looking at the downward pointing arrow again, click on power up and follow the process. It reflects almost immediately on your account.

I hope this was easy to understand and you enjoyed reading it. If you did, comment what you think and vote. Thanks guys♥️

Cc:
@steemcurator03
@bright-obias

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57475.27
ETH 2375.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34