Achievement 2: BASIC SECURITY ON STEEM / by: @juichi

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago

43BEDFC7-8E58-4021-9A46-20EF1064DDD9.jpeg

Hello my fellow Steemians,

These days, hackers are almost everywhere waiting for opportunities to hack our account. It is better to secure our password and be aware! There are troll accounts on the the comment section, wherein hackers used to deceive people through their sugar-coated comments.
Below, I will be discussing the importance and functions of each different keys, special thanks to @cryptokannon for explicating it well.

AFB1695B-141F-42A2-BBA3-CA8CFCE539D7.jpeg

Question 1

Have you retrieve all the keys on Steemit?
Yes, I retrieved all those keys after my registration on Steemit. I've saved it in a very secure place.

Question 2

Do you know each of these keys functions and restrictions?
Yes, I know each function and restrictions, it is clearly discuss below,

  • Posting Key:
    This key should be used for social networking actions, like posting, commenting and voting. This key has a limited set of permissions and it is not able to be used for monetary actions. So you can't lose money if someone else gets access to this key.
    Use this key to log in to other Steem-powered social networks like Steemit, Busy and eSteem. Store this key safely.
  • Active Key:
    This key has additional permissions for more sensitive monetary-related actions, like transferring and exchanging tokens.
    When performing a wallet related action, you may be prompted to authenticate with your Active key. You should only enter your Active Key into apps which you trust because anyone with access to this key can take your tokens. Do yourself a favor and store this key safely to avoid losing tokens in the future.
  • Owner Key:
    The owner key is required to change the other keys. This key has additional permissions to recover your account or change your other keys. It's the most important key and should be securely stored offline.
  • Memo Key:
    The Memo key because it is a bit of an outlier. The only thing the Memo Key can do is encrypt and decrypt private messages that are sent through the blockchain. While this could one day be a powerful feature, today it is not commonly used. If you have received a private message that you would like to decrypt, as always you should use the key with the minimum necessary authorities, which in this case would be the the Memo Key
  • Public Key:
    Each Steem Key has a public and private key to encrypt and decrypt data. Public keys are associated with usernames and can be used to look up associated transactions on the blockchain. Your public keys are not required for login on Steemit.com and you don't need to store these safely.

Question 3

How do you plan to keep your master password?
I've saved my master password on my other gadgets and computer. I also save it on my other social media account and I wrote it on my notes. It is 100% protected.

Question 4

Do you know how to transfer your steem token to another account?
Yes, I already successfully tried it before. Go to your steem wallet. On the left side there is a drop-down bar then click it. And press the option to transfer. Simply fill- up the questions and that's it.

1AF6A9C3-52F0-41BA-9C17-52654B5AD1BF.jpeg

Question 5

Do you know how to power up your steem?
Yes, by putting up the amount of steem that I wanted to power-up.Then it's done.

EFF691D6-BE9F-48DD-9509-E8AC76B9E81D.jpeg

For those who read this Basic Security on Steemit, I hope I had explained it clearly. Thank you so much!
Best regards to;
@njaywan
@besticofinder
@kryptocannon
@steemcurator03

Sincerely,
@juichi.

Sort:  

I finally found it when trying to log in with master password instead of posting key. It gave me the option to down load a PDF file.

It's great to know that you've finally solved it Sir @r2cornell. Thank you so much for for up-voting this post and for dropping by.

Thank you for this post. I had to change my password and thus my keys this morning. I have done this before and I always was able to get at my public keys. I have had to use the public memo key in the past.

"View public key information for this account (in the 'Authorities' module):
steemscan.com/account/r2cornell"

I cannot find the public keys like I have in the past. Any idea where they are here. I see nothing about authorities module. Any help would be appreciated.

You may proceed to the next achievement task!

Thank you so much @cryptokannon, I will complete all tasks.

 3 years ago 

You have been upvoted by cryptokannon,and we are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator03 account to support the newcomers coming into steemit.
Follow @steemitblog for the latest news/update on Steem Blockchain and Steemit Community in general.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67388.31
ETH 3311.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74