Achievement 2 @jaykay1 Task : Basic Security on Steem

in Newcomers' Community4 months ago

cyber-security-3400657_1280.webp
source

Greetings everyone. Welcome to my task 2 of the Achievement Tasks. Many thanks to @cryptokannon for the guide post.

INTRODUCTION

Security is an vital part of daily life. When it comes to the matter of finances, security is of utmost concern too. As we all know that Steemit isn't just a social media only, it also carries monetary value. This is amazingly exceptional of Steemit.

Security is keeping one's account safe from receiving access by an intruder (hacker). Hence, Steemit provides users with uniquely autogenerated keys rather than keys created by the users. This in one way provides strong security. It is therefore now the responsibility of every user to keep his/her account safe.

Question 1

Have you retrieve all your keys on steemit?

Yes, I have retrieved all my keys on Steemit. Upon a successful sign up, I received my master password and with this, I retrieved my other keys.

Question2

Do you know each of these key functions and restrictions

Certainly, I do.
Master Password:
This is the password given upon signing up for Steemit. With this, all the other keys are obtained. It is the most important, because without it, te other keys cannot be gotten. It is not to be used ,except to recover one's lost account. Though it can perform the functions of the keys, it should be rarely used, because if it gets copied by an hacker/intruder, that account cannot be recovered.

Posting Key:
Posting Key is used to perform social activities on Steemit. This include to post, comment, vote, edit, resteem a post, follow or mute another user. It is the most used key and it has less impact on the account. If it is stolen, the thief cannot touch the monetary part of the account, except only the social parts.

Active Key:
Active key is used to perform more sensitive activities on Steemit, this includes the financial activities like transfer of funds, power up or power down, save up Steem/Steem dollar, converting Steem dollar, , trade or place a market order, vote for witnesses. Because of the function of this key, it should be carefully secured and never saved to a website.

Memo Key:
This key is used to encrypt or decrypt memos during transaction on Steemit. Used for transfer of fund with private memos.

Owner key:
Of all the four keys, the owner key is the most powerful, because it can be used to change the other keys including the owner key. It is pertinent to keep the key very safe from the reach of hackers.

Question 4

Do you know how to transfer your steem token to another steem user account?

To transfer Steem token to another Steem user, I successfully logged into my wallet using the active key.
Then, I clicked on the drop down arrow under the Steem segment , as shown in the image below:

IMG-20240328-WA0000.jpg

Several options come up and I selected transfer:

IMG-20240328-WA0006.jpg

Selecting transfer brought me to another page where I have to put in the username of the Steem user and the amount of Steem I want to transfer, as shown in the screenshot below:

IMG-20240328-WA0003.jpg

After inputting the details, the Next button became highlighted. Then it brings another page that shows Ok.

IMG-20240328-WA0004.jpg

Clicking this button authorizes the transfer.And the token is sent successfully.

Question 5

Do you know how to power up your STEEM?

Certainly. To power up my Steem, I go to the Steem segment in my wallet after a successful log in. Click on the drop down arrow, I select Power up among the other options.

IMG-20240328-WA0007.jpg

I input the amount of Steem I want to power up.

IMG-20240328-WA0011.jpg

A page comes up to confirm the power up.

IMG-20240328-WA0010.jpg

I click the Ok and the power up is successful.

Thank you all for reading.

Sort:  
 4 months ago 

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

 4 months ago 

Thank you for upvoting

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.70
ETH 3158.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43