Achievement 2 @jainel80 Task: Basic Security on Steem

in Newcomers' Community4 years ago

Wow all this information is a little overwhelming, but very exciting. I spent most of the day learning and playing with my steemit wallet just to familiarize myself with it. Now that I have even more information I feel even more empowered and grateful to be here. Yesterday as I was finishing up my achievement 1 and reading up on achievement 2, my family and I took a trip to the carwash to get some nasty dirt, snow, and salt off the truck. This gave me a little bit of time to do some reading, being a mom and working you know you got to find the time to do the things you would like to do. I get in where I can fit in😁😁

20210129_141556.jpg

I received my keys from Steemit in the first few minutes I signed up. After opening up my new account I begin to navigate it on my own ( I'm nosey so of course I'm going to snoop around my own account LOL). I happen to find the link that contained my keys & secured it as well as printed it to file it away safe. I know my steemit account is important and sacred the distinct fingerprint of my password and keys says that alone and I am well aware that I have to keep those safe.

My master password is my most important, since all keys come from the master! I have filed this away safe & deposit box is next! The key with the least amount of power is the posting key, it's also the key that you pretty much use all the time so your account stays safe and free from as much malicious activity as possible. Using less of your keys helps to keep your steemit account safe.
The memo key is for decrypting and encrypting tranfer memos. The private active key is used to do certain activities with my wallet like powering up steem or transferring tokens
The Private owner key is your second most important key. It is used to recover your account if lost or compromised, it should never be used and should also be kept secure unless your account needs to be recovered. Of course at first I thought all these different passwords and keys were a little bit too much but as I learn more about my new community I know these have their importance just like a bank account.

Powering up of steam, liquid steem and transferring steem definitely was a little confusing at first but watching some of the tutorials (thanks @kiwiscanfly) really helped with the reading. Steem is usually liquid, you have to convert it over or Power It Up to use it by clicking the arrow to the right of your steem & follow the prompt to power up.
I can also transfer it to another Community member the same way, my wallet doesn't look so complicated now. My wallet at the moment of course is very small, but I am also very new and very eager to grow it and begin to navigate through using steem, delegating steem, powering up, transferring and one day of course turning that into $ 😊😉.

Sort:  
 4 years ago (edited)

Hi @jainel80,

Great Job

You got a full understanding of the different keys been generated to you when creating your steemit account. Going ahead to mastery the step to transfer token and power. I give you a Thumbs Up.

Power It Up to use it by clicking the arrow to the right of your steem & follow the prompt to power up.

I think, adding a screenshot will boost your post more.


Dont forget you can post any content in Steemit Nursery
Once more you are welcome to the home of fun. @fombae #cameroon
 4 years ago 

Thanks for the insight!!😊

 4 years ago 

You have been upvoted by @yohan2on, a curator and a member of the steemPOD project. We are voting using the steemcurator03 to support newcomers participating in the Newcomers achievement program.

Thanks for responding to the achievement task 2: understanding the basic security of a steem account. You may now proceed to other achievement tasks.
Always follow @steemitblog for updates on steemit.

 4 years ago 

Yes! On to the next Achievement. @yohan2on thanks!😊. I think I'm getting the hang of this!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67112.11
ETH 2610.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67