Achievement 2 @huntershotz Task: Basic Security on STEEM

in Newcomers' Community5 months ago (edited)

99F8F9FC-BE19-4664-BC7E-A0ED79BDF12D.jpeg
Hey! Greetings to everyone here.

It is imperative to take great care to safeguard and maintain the security of your STEEM wallet and account.
It is also necessary to possess a solid understanding of the various keys, including their uses and when they should be used.

###

Retrieving Account Keys

I have located and retrieved all of my account keys, which I have stored both online and offline in a secure location.

The Master Password, Owner Key, Active Key, and Posting Key are the four keys that I am aware of being used for STEEM activities.

All other keys can be obtained via the Master Password Key, as its name suggests. It is extremely safe.

###

Uses of each key and restrictions

The Master Password Key serves as the entry point for all other keys, as its name suggested. Due to how crucial its security is, a thoughtless revelation may allow someone to access your accounts and remove all of your tokens from them. Not used for social or financial functions on the STEEM website, this key is generated for other purposes.

The posting key can be used to carry out regular tasks like writing a post, leaving a comment on another person's work, editing, voting, resteeming, following, and muted accounts. Not being used for financial transactions is one of its limitations.
Financial operations like sending money and other private actions like changing profile information and executing a market order are all done with the help of Active Key.
It cannot be used to create additional keys, publish, vote, or leave comments.

When there has been an attempt, breach, or real hacking, the Owner Key is used to alter any key associated with the account, usually for account recovery.

When transferring money, memos can be encrypted and decrypted using Memo Key. It permits an additional security layer.

###

How I plan to keep my Masterkey

For convenience, I have an offline copy on paper in my journal and an offline copy on my phone in the Notes app. My phone apps have a security passcode, which makes them safe and provides for additional privacy.

###

How to transfer Token

I went to my wallet and with the use of my active key.
67683B80-DAE2-4B22-8A31-D97E01056242.png

I signed in, and then I selected transfer in the drop-down menu.

3AF87CA1-BC42-4E9E-A03C-C5FBD6440053.png

I entered the username of the person I wanted to transfer to and the desired quantity of Steem on the box that appeared, as seen in the screenshot below.
And to finish the transfer, click the next button.

5F69603A-D635-4A27-91C6-12AFFE4399E8.png

###

How to power up STEEM

I know how to power up my steem. I logged in to my wallet using my active key, and from the drop down menu, clicked on power up.
53BCCB89-1C11-4013-982D-4F0974E34488.png
On the box that came out, I then input the amount to power up. Eg 0.001. then I clicked power up. I also used my active key to complete the power up.

D535D5C3-044A-45F6-9EE1-DBC6C4C2667A.png

It is worthy of note that I used the active key for both the transfer and powering up of my steem.
I hope that this post will help you comprehend keys and power up.

Thank you @ngoenyi, for being such a good mentor and guiding me right. You are the best.

https://steemit.com/hive-172186/@huntershotz/7vl2x2-achievement-1-this-is-my-introduction-post-to-steemit-i-was-mentored-by-ngoenyi

  • [ ]
Sort:  

You have shown your understanding of these keys. It is now left for the greeters to check and approve. @wilmer1988, please check again. I believe he has done the needful

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

In order to validate your achievement 2 you must use the correct labels for it, you must also explain more explicitly step by step how you must carry out the powerup and transfer processes, indicating which of your keys you can use for it.

 5 months ago 

I have made changes. Please check again. Thank you Sir.

 5 months ago 

You've shown proficient knowledge of this task and as such verified. Continue keeping your keys safe especially the master key, you may move to the next task #3 at your convenience.

Rate: 1

 5 months ago 

Thank you. I will always keep my keys safe.

This post has been upvoted through -Steemcurator09.



Team Newcomer- Curation Guidelines For February 2024 Curated by - <@goodybest>

Note: Try and engage meaningfully with fellow users, comment and upvote on their post, as this will help you to have good Voting CSI

Join Newcomers' community group 👇

https://discord.com/invite/zPUbmKeV

We invite all newcomers from 0 to 3 months of existence in steemit to use hashtags #newcomer and #country.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67544.78
ETH 3225.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65