Achievement 2- Basic Security by @hansamali

in Newcomers' Community2 years ago

Hello Friends,

I have Completed Achievement 1 and I'm here to complete Achievement task 2: Basic Security today. To Complete Achievement 2 I need to answer the questions related to Basic security on Steemit.

image.png
source

So let's start answering the questions.

Question 1 - Have you retrieved all your keys on Steemit?

It's the very first important task that I did when creating a Steemit account. Yes, I retrieved all my keys safely as it's the only way that I could log into my account and the wallet. When the account is created we receive a PDF with all keys that we need on Steemit. I downloaded the PDF file and saved it safely on my hard drive to make sure that the keys are not stolen or lost. And also I took a printout and stored it in a personal file, just in case the hard drive gets misplaced.

Question2 - Do you know each of these key functions and restrictions?

Yes, I studied the post on Basic security It has clearly mentioned the functions of each key and its restrictions. Let's start from the bottom of the hierarchy.

  1. Posting Key - it's the key that I use for every day log-ins. It's the only key that I have saved in a place that I can access anytime. We can use the posting key to do the basic activities such as Posting, Edit posts, Voting, Re-Steem, Commenting, following another user, or muting a user on Steemit.

  2. Active Key - It's the second on the hierarchy of keys. The active key is used for the activities related to the wallet and the general settings of the account. This key can be used when transferring funds from one account to another, powering Up or Down, converting funds, and changing account settings.

  3. Owner Key - The owner key is very important and should be kept safely as you can change any key with the use of the owner key. Basically, it has the highest authorization when compared to other keys. This key can only be retained by using the master password which is received initially when setting up the account.

  4. Memo Key - This key is used to encrypt and decrypt memos in a transaction.

Question 3 - How do you plan to keep your master password?

As I mentioned before the master password is received once you create the account. After entering the master password we receive all other keys to proceed on Steemit. When comes to recovering Steemit account the master password is the only way that you can get your account back.

I have safely copied the master password and saved it on the hard drive to use when necessary. And also stored the same on a personal file to make sure that I won't lose it anytime.-

Question 4 - Do you know how to transfer your steem token to another steem user account?

Yes, I do. Please refer below screenshots for clear understanding.

Step 1 - Log into Steemit Wallet by entering your Posting key

image.png

Step 2 - Click on the dropdown sign next to steem on right corner. Then you will see transfer tab

image.png

Step 3 - When you click on transfer tab, Tansfer to account details box will appear. There you need to enter the username of the person you are going to transfer, The amount you are transferring and you can also keep a memo and click on the next tab to proceed.

image.png

Question 5 - Do you know how to power up your STEEM?

Yes, I do. Please refer below screenshots for clear understanding.

Step 1 - Log into Steemit Wallet by entering your Posting key

image.png

Step 2 - Click on the dropdown sign next to steem on right corner. Then you will see Power Up tab

image.png

Step 3 - Eneter the amount you need to power up in the box appear and click on Power up tab to proceed.

image.png

I have answered all the questions on basic security as per my understanding. Looking forward to complete Achievement 3.

Thank you all.. don't forget to follow me... God bless this community, I love you all.

Thanks for reading... Have a great day ahead!

Link to my Achievement 1: My introduction to Newcomer's Community

Sort:  

You have been verified for this task and you may now proceed to Achievement 3: Content Etiquette at your convenience. Please refer to the guide on the Newcomers Achievement Program on the Notice Board pinned post. For the latest updates and important announcements, don't forget to follow @steemitblog and visit the Steemit Crypto Academy for you to learn about cryptocurrency.

Curators Rate-2

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94