Achievement 2 mentor: Basic Security on Steem

in Newcomers' Community4 years ago

Hi steemies.
Today I will complete my second task and that is basic security system.
Understanding the basic security system is really important and have helped me answer my question "why do I need all this complex password?".

The automated generated password can help protect our account so no hackers can do harm to our steemit.

strong_password.png

Question 1: Have you retrieve all your keys on steemit?

I have retrieve all my keys on steemit, and to do that I need to first log in to my steemit wallet by using my master password to login. Then I go to key & permission section and retrieved all my generated key then put it offline.
Or, when in register you will be given the generated passwords.

2N61tyyncFaFVtpM8rCsJzDgecVMtkz4jpzBsszXjhqan9w6LUrCL9sTnj67jsoQh7ZhPMDaYRTn1C9PhERgv3qQK6RD2W7WMzGicQa1EJacYGYTQzWKF4f6bEKgMEG1gTQKiAJ1gpwQ.jpg

photo_2020-09-28_22-17-37.jpg

Question2: Do you know each of these key functions and restrictions?
Yes I have understand each of these key functions and restrictions. Steemit private keys are “hierarchical” which means that each one enables the key holder to perform a wider variety of activities with the associated account.

1#- Posting Key:
This is the basic password. Which will can do perform our daily activities. Such as posting, upvoting, downvoting, commenting, editing, following others, resteem, joining the community and muting accounts. The posting key does not require high level of security.

2#- Active key:
This key have a very delicate use such as to power up and down, And be able to transfer your funds. Using this key, You can also able to vote for a witness, update your profile details and conversion of Steem Dollar and placing a market order.

3#- Owner key:
This key is very essential of all the key. Because with this key, you can change your others keys of your account including the owner key. Also used for recover a account. It is advisable to secure it offline.

4#- Memo key:
This key is basically used to send an encrypted message. It is also used to see any encrypted message sent to you privately.

Meaning all the generated key have different use that are essential and it will secure you from any active hackers.

Question 3: How do you plan to keep your master password?

I plan to keep my master password offline in pdf document. I will keep it inside a computer, pendrive, smartphone, memory, and hard disk. If my computer cause problem I still have it at other devices.

Question 4: Do you know how to transfer your steem token to another steem user account?

Yes I know how to transfer steem tokens, It's an easy process. Firstly, to go to your steemit wallet with master password log in. Next, it's show you how much steem token you have in your wallet. Then, click on the drop-down arrow there and you will see the transfer option. After selecting Transfer, another new page will open and then you will need to fill your information in there, enter the amount, where to transfer and done. Last, confirm it with active key.

Question 5: Do you know how to power up your STEEM?
I now know how to power up my STEEM first click on the small profile pic in the upper right hand corner to get the drop down menu, then select Wallet, at the wallet menu click on the small arrow near SBD or STEEM and choose Power Up.

Thank you @cryptokannon for giving this task I now know it is really important to keep your password safe. Even if some hacker got inside you can still retrieve it using master key, it is good knowledge. Thank you @elvinbeben for teaching me to understand about basic security system on Steem.

And Last but no least, thank everyone for reading and supporting me.

Sort:  
 4 years ago 

Hi @hamzi98 please continue to post your content on steemit. Sorry that we missed the curation on this post. Please notify me cryptokannon when you have active post/7days available. See you around soon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58188.83
ETH 2585.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40