Achievement 2 by @goodybest Basic security on Steemit mentorship by @cryptokannon

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago (edited)

MEANING OF SECURITY:
Security is freedom from, or resilience against potential harm (or other unwanted coercive change) cause by others. Beneficiaries (technically referents) of security maybe of persons and social groups, objects and institutions, ecosystems or any other entity or phenomenon vulnerable to unwanted change.
In this contest, Basic Security on Steem refers to How one can protect and keep his/her steem account secured and safe from danger of being steal, attack or hacked.

HAVE YOU RETRIEVED ALL YOUR KEYS ON STEEMIT?
Immediately I was signed up for Steemit, I was given a Master password of which I used on steemit.com wallet to retrieved all other keys which includes posting Key, active key, owner key, and memo key. After I had retrieved all the keys, I makes sure that I saved them where it cannot be easily access by others or loss while those keys are used going forward.
So I can affirmatively answer yes that I have retrieved all my keys on Steemit.com and kept them safe.

DO YOU KNOW EACH OF THESE KEYS FUNCTIONS AND RESTRICTIONS? YES
Each of the keys is used to perform different functions, below is the summary of their functions and restrictions:

(i) MASTER PASSWORD: master password is the password you are giving When signing up, and it is used to generate all other keys. After which it is stored safely in a digital offline storage like flash drive, an external disk or by printing it.
Master key should only be used when you are going through your account recovery.

(ii) POSTING KEY: posting key is used for posting, commenting, editing, voting, and devoting, it can also be use to follow or mute other accounts.
Posting keys can only be used for everyday logins.

(iii) ACTIVE KEY: the active key is used for sensitive tasks like transferring funds (tokens), power steem up/down, converting steem Dollars, voting for witnesses, updating profile details, avatar, and placing a market order.
It is only necessary for transfers and power ups etc.

(iv) OWNER KEY: it is the most powerful key, because it is used to reset all other keys of an account including owner key. Ideally, this key should be stored offline.
Owner key can only be used to recover a compromise account.

(v) MEMO KEY: Memo key is used to send an encrypt and decrypt memos when transferring funds. In order to encrypt a memo you need to used # sign before it.
Memo key can only be used for concealing & converting information when transferring funds.

HOW DO YOU PLAN TO KEEP YOUR MASTER PASSWORD?
I know the important of keeping my master password safe, because it is used to derived all keys in someone's account. And if someone has access to my master key password they can they can steal my account and all the tokens in it. Because of this I will first of all never share my password with any One nor any third party site, and I have already printed my master password out and safe it in a deposit box where no other person will have access to, nor get lose.

DO YOU KNOW HOW TO TRANSFER YOUR STEEM TOKEN TO ANOTHER STEEM USER ACCOUNT?
Yes I know and I can easily perform this through the steps below:

  1. Login into my steem account by clicking on my profile then click on wallet
  2. Click on the the dashes image at the upper right hand side as indicated below:

Screenshot_20210415-104331_2.png

  1. Then I Click on sign in, and it takes me to where I enter my user name and master password then I confirm it, and automatically take me back to my wallet
    As shown below:

Screenshot_20210415-105155.png

  1. I clicked on the the drop down arrow beside steem as shown in the picture below:

Screenshot_20210415-105155_1.png

  1. Then I click on transfer as shown in the image below:

Screenshot_20210415-105155_2.png

  1. It took me to where I put the username of the person I wanted to transfer to and the amount I wants to transfer as shown in image below:

Screenshot_20210415-104937.png

Then I'll click next to confirm my transactions.

DO YOU KNOW HOW TO POWER UP YOUR STEEM?
Yes I know how to power up steem;
I can do this by clicking on my wallet
Then click on the dropping arrow beside steem as shown below:

Screenshot_20210415-104751_1.png

Then I click on power up as shown below:

Screenshot_20210415-105155_3.png

Then it open a page where I enter the amount I want to power up
As shown in the image below:

Screenshot_20210415-105229.png

Then I'll click on power up.

I am grateful to @cryptokannon, @focusnow ,@ngoenyi, and @eliany for their assistance to newbies

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

You have been upvoted by @bright-obias, A Steem Greeter from STEEM POD Project and we are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator03 account to support the newcomers coming into steemit. Follow @steemitblog for the latest update on Steem Community. Steem on!

 3 years ago 

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62226.04
ETH 2440.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63