ACHIEVEMENT 2 by @gifty1 : BASIC SECURITY ON STEEMIT

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago


image.png

source

hi everyone I am back here to complete my acheivement 2 task.

A task about the security on steemit.
security on steemit is an important aspect of being on steemit.
Imagine working so hard and then someone rubs you off your hard earned sbds oe steem.

Question 1:
Have u retrieved all your keys on steemit?

Yes,I have retrieved my keys.
The moment I was helped in creating the account I was told to retrieve all my keys before doing nything else.
The keys i remember saving are my posting,private,active,owner master,public and tron keys.

Question 2:
Do u know each of these key functions and restrictions?

Yes,I know what each key is used for.

The tron keys are what I will need when I ever I want to make a transaction with the trons earned.

The public keys are pegged with my username.
What I can say about this keys is that they can be used code and decode messages; they are not required for the normal logins into my steemit account.

The Posting key is what enables a user to post their content , vote for content,give comments , edit posts, follow and mute ateemit users.
This key is what should always be use when you want to do login into your account and do stuff that does does not entail using your funds.

The active key is used for more sensitive stuff pertaining to the user’s wallets.
The active key is used for transferring funds, converting steem dollars, powering up and powering down, voting for witnesses, updating profile details and also changing steem to sbds in the market and vice-versa.

The** owner key** is the most powerful key. It is used to recover compromised account . the owner key can be used to change the keys of an account. It is should be used when you want to change your keys.

The memo key is used in encrypting and decrypting memos when transferring funds .
The pound sign (# ) is used is used to encrypt a memo.

Question 3:
How do you plan to keep your master password?

The very moment the account was created,I was eduacted on several was of keeping my platform.
So I decided to store them offline and also in my gmail incase I need it when my device is not around.

Question 4:
Do you know how to transfer your steem token to another steem user account?

Yes I have an idea as to how it is done.

  1. Click the profile icon to reveal menu.
  2. Click on profile from the menu.
  3. Select wallet
  4. You will see steem option with an attached arrow pointing downwards, click on it.
  5. Now select transfer
  6. A menu now appear, fill in username of the account you want to transfer the funds to.
  7. Click next and then click on ok to confirm.

Screenshot (707).png


Screenshot (708).png


Screenshot (709).png


Screenshot (710).png


Screenshot (711).png


Screenshot (712).png


Screenshot (713).png



Question 5:
Do you know how to power up your steem?
Yes this is how it is done .

Yes I do have an idea as to how powering up is down.

  1. click on your profile
  2. select wallet
  3. click on power up.
  4. Enter the amount of steem you want to power up and confirm by clicking power up.

image.png


image.png


Screenshot (719).png


Screenshot (718).png



Screenshot (720).png

This are the little bits I think we should all know about security on steemit.

Thank you.

Sort:  

Hi i am Sumit one of the team member of Steem Greeter.

I am happy to announce that i have successfully verified your achievement 2 post. Now you are eligible for performing your achievement 3 which is about content etiquettes. You can refer this post for your next task.

Note:

Rate: 2

“This post has been rewarded by @oppongk from @steemcurator04 Account with support from the Steem Community Curation Project."

Keep posting good content and follow @steemitblog for more updates!

 3 years ago 

Thank you very much.

 3 years ago 

Hi, @gifty1,

Your post has been supported by @vvarishayy from the Steem Greeter Team.

 3 years ago 

Thank you very much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64504.36
ETH 3414.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51