ACHIEVEMENT 2 @francis3600 TASK: BASIC SECURITY ON STEEM

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago

virtualization-security.jpg

Security is very important when it comes to performing transactions in our daily endeavors and more specially online transactions, as it protects us from third party interferences. That is why it is very important to understand and practice the basic securities on Steemit.

♦ Have you retrieve all your keys on steemit?

Yes, the first thing I did after signing up to Steemit was to retrieve all my keys. The person who introduced me to Steemit was available to guide me through all these processes of retrieving the keys and I was able to do that successfully.

Screenshot_20210904-105709_1.png

After signing up, I entered my wallet and read about all the keys and permissions and after understanding the functions of each key, I went ahead to retrieve them for storage.

♦ Do you know each of these key functions and restrictions?

Yes, after reading about the keys that are provided, I got to know the functions of each and how important they are to the successful use of steemit

Screenshot_20210904-092034_1.png

Starting from the base of the hierarchy, the posting key should be the most used key because it's allows accounts to post, comment, edit, follow or mute as well as resteeming.
Since password and keys are likely to be compromised the more they are used, the posting key helps to hinder the damage that compromised account key could cause.
Active key: as read on steemit, the active key should be used to perform sensitive tasks such as transferring funds, performing power-up and power-down transactions, converting steem Dollars, voting for witness, updating details and placing a market order.
Owner Key: this key is only used occasionally when it becomes necessary as it is a powerful key that can change any key of an account including the owner key itself therefore should be stored very securely offline and should be used when I want to recover a compromised account.
Master Key: this should be kept safe as it's used in changing passwords. Third parties can use it to cause damage to an account therefore it must be stored very carefully.

♦How do you plan to keep your master password?

To keep my master password as well as other keys, I have made an offline copy which I kept with my document and I as well have an online storage in my mail and cloud storage. I also have them stored on my USB drive.

♦ Do you know how to transfer steem token to other steem user accounts?

Yes, now I know how to transfer steem to other steem user accounts. To do this, I go to my wallet and under balances, I click on the drop-down menu beside the steem balance and then I click on transfer.

Screenshot_20210904-124000_1.png

I carefully enter the recipient's name and and the amount I want to transfer as seen in the image below. I then click on NEXT to complete the transaction.

Screenshot_20210904-124141_1.png

♦ Do you know how to power up your steem?

Yes, now I know how to power up my steem.
To do this, I again go to my wallet, click on the drop-down menu beside the steem balance and then I select Power Up

Screenshot_20210904-124229_1.png

I then enter the amount of steem I want to power up and I click on POWER UP to complete the transaction.

Screenshot_20210904-124308_1.png

This task has been very educative and helpful. Thanks to the steemit team.

Sort:  

Hey @francis3600, This is Aniqa Mashkoor, a greeter helper.


congratulations! you have successfully completed your achievement 2. Now you can head towards completion of achievement 3. For this, I'll recommend you to first read and understand this Achievement 3: Content Etiquette guideline by cryptokannon

TASK RATE: 02


NOTE: Attach link of your verified achievement 1

I encourage you to complete your achievements till 4 to be a part of NEWCOMERS SUPPORT PROGRAM which is 500SP Minnow Support Program in the Newcomers' Community.

Happy steeming :)

 3 years ago 

Ok, thank you.

 3 years ago 

Hi, @francis3600,

Your post has been supported by @tarpan from the Steem Greeter Team.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65248.25
ETH 3471.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51