Achievement 2 @flawlesss Task : Basic Security on STEEM

in Newcomers' Community2 years ago

BASICSECURITY .png


Hello everyone. I'm here again.

I joined STEEMIT about 27 days ago. I have done my first achievement task, now I am proceeding to my next achievement which is about basic security on STEEM.
Basic security on STEEM is very important because it makes sure that we know the different keys and their functions, how to transfer STEEM using the proper key, and then how to power up our STEEM. Let's get right to the answers of the questions.

QUESTION 1: Have you retrieved all your keys on STEEMIT?

Yes I have retrieved my all keys on STEEMIT. I also made sure that I stored them properly as directed by instructions; in a hard drive and also in an online drive.

QUESTION 2: Do you know each of these key functions and restrictions?

Yes, I am very familiar with each keys and their restrictions. They are Posting Key, Active Key, Owner Key, Memo key, Master Key and Public Key.

Posting key - The posting key allows me to post, comment, edit, vote, resteem, and follow or mute other accounts. I log into Steemit every day with the posting key. You are more likely to have your password or key compromised the more you use it so a limited posting key exists to restrict the damage that a compromised account key would cause.

Active key - The active key is meant for more sensitive tasks such as transferring funds, power up/down transactions, converting Steem Dollars, voting for witnesses, updating profile details and avatar, and placing a market order.

Public key - There is not much important use of public key. You can use it to check the transaction on Steemit.

Owner key - The owner key is only meant for use when necessary. It is the most powerful key because it can change any key of an account, including the owner key. Ideally, it is meant to be stored offline, and only used to recover a compromised account.

Memo key - This key is used for encrypting and decrypting memos when transferring funds. In order to encrypt a memo, use the pound/# sign before it.

Master Key/Password - The Master Password is the password I got upon signing up. Master Password is used to generate all the other keys, including the Owner Key. The only reason I have to ever really be use my Master Password is when I am going through account recovery, in which case I will retrieve the Master Key from my offline safe storage.

QUESTION 3: How do you plan to keep your master password?

The master passsword is a lock which once obtained means your account is at risk of being hacked and therefore to keep it safe I locked it in my web cloud which only I can access.

QUESTION 4: Do you know how to transfer your STEEM token to another STEEM user account?

Yes. I am very familiar with the process. I log into my wallet, then I convert my SBD into Steem. Follow the following steps.

Step 1: Click on the arrow and then click on the transfer option.

A.pngC.png



C.png

Step 2: Then add the amount you want to transfer. Also add the name of user or account to which you want to transfer your tokens.

Cc.png

D.png

Step 3: Then login with your active key. To confirm the transfer click OK. That's basically how it is done.

QUESTION 5: Do you know how to power up your STEEM?

Yes! I know how to power up my STEEM. Here are the steps:


Step 1: Click on the down arrow and then click on the power up.


a.png

b.png

Step 2: Complete confirmation. Click on OK and then complete power up.
c.png
dd.png



Your wallet should look like this after power up.

e.png



Special thanks
@cryotokannon

@harryel

@rexxalo 

@cryptokannon

@whitestallion.





Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Hi, @flawlesss,

Your post has been supported by @saxopedia from the Steem Greeter Team.

 2 years ago 

Thank you

Now you know perfectly the topic of security in the Steem Blockchain and therefore I have successfully verified your Achievement 2. Continue advancing in this great journey by doing your Achievement 3 in which you will put your brain to the test studying the content protocol of the platform. Remember that you can tag me to verify yourself faster.

NOTES: Nothing.

R3

@Alejos7ven.gif

#onepercent #twopercent #affable

 2 years ago 

Thank you so much

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64870.15
ETH 3489.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54