ACHIEVEMENT 2! BASIC SECURITY ON STEEM BY FADEKEMIE

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago

Hi Steemians!

I'm back again, and this time, it's for putting up my Achievement 2 post. It is awesome to see my verified Achievement tag. It does look good next to my name yunno, lol. Now I am truly raring to go.

So I know y'all might have read the basic security posts a million times, but then it won't hurt to read one more, would it? lol.

So let's get down to it and tackle the questions, shall we?


entrepreneur-3404056_1920 (1).jpg

Image by francousqui from Pixabay


1. Have you retrieved all your keys on Steemit?

Yes, I have retrieved all my keys. The keys were automatically sent to me at the point of registering, thanks to the effective registration process. I also saved all of them offline as well on a manually secure location.

2. Do you know each of these key functions and restrictions?

Yes. I've learnt about the keys, the functions and restrictions all thanks to the various posts made by other Steemians about it. I have learnt their functions extensively.

POSTING KEY

Let's just say the Posting key is used for the social functions. This key is used to log in to the app, you can use it to post, comment and vote. It's basically the 'social one'.

ACTIVE KEY

I like to think of the active key as the financial key. This key is used for monetary and wallet related activities, such as transferring tokens or powering STEEM, conversion of steem dollar to steem and vice versa.

MEMO KEY

The Memo key is used for encrypting and decrypting memos when transferring funds. I would say that's about the sum total of this key.

OWNER KEY

Every Key is vital but the owner key is considered as the most vital key because it can be used to reset every other key. Ideally, it is meant to be stored offline, and only used to recover a compromised account. However, I stored all of mine offline because obviously, hard drives could crash.

3. How do you plan to keep the Master password?

My master password is saved in my notepad which is backed up in my drive, and also saved offline in a manually secure location.

4. Do you know how to transfer your steem token to another steem user account?

To transfer steem to another account;

  1. Go to your wallet on your dashboard. This displays the current value of your Steem and some other information.
  2. Your Steem token will be displayed. Click on the arrow beside your steem tokens. A drop-down menu will appear.
  3. Select "transfer" from the drop down menu
  4. Enter the recipient's username and amount, you can also add an extra note in the memo bar (The memo is public though).
  5. Then Click on "next" and confirm the details of the recipient.
  6. Click on "OK" to transfer

5.Do you know how to power your Steem?

Yes, Definitely.

To power up your steem;

  1. Go to your wallet and click on the arrow beside your Steem token
  2. Your Steem token will be displayed. Click on the arrow beside your steem tokens. A drop-down menu will appear.
  3. Choose "power up" from this menu.
  4. Enter the amount of steem you wish to convert to Steem Power
  5. Click on power up

I'ld like to commend @kiwiscanfly for his detailed post on powering up Steem.

Thanks to @cryptokannon also for the insight on the security keys.

Thanks for reading through. I'll catch y'all later on achievement3

1b3ad077-d5a5-4fe4-88de-76066e1f62fa.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89