Achievement 2 Post: Basic Steem Security

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago (edited)

D5zH9SyxCKd9GJ4T6rkBdeqZw1coQAaQyCUzUF4FozBvW6xRDPNm63LehZBv54NqUeT8CwtGYikPn7EZEU5KBWddACbnNtUZjT9LNeZw29SFW2gQSe1y7WxS5PLZkpq6wc6EtE.png

Security is one of the ideal knowledge everyone needs to have in the blockchain.
When I first signed up to steemit, i first ensured that my keys were downloaded, printed out and kept in a safe to avoid losing them.

MAJOR KEYS IN STEEMIT BLOCKCHAIN ACCOUNT AND THEIR FUNCTIONS.

PRIVATE POSTING KEY
It is a private key which is used to posting contents on the steemit blockchain. Private posting enables me to login, make posts, comment on other people's post, edit a post should incase I made a mistake, follow other steemit users, unfollow or mute other accounts.

PRIVATE ACTIVE KEY
This key allows me access to my wallet, where I can run transactions like make transfers, power up or power down, convert SBD to steem and vice versa, vote for a witness, update my personal details and also trade.

PRIVATE OWNER KEY
It regulates other keys and enables retrieval of accounts.

PRIVATE MEMO KEY
This key is mainly encryptioning and decryptioning during funds transfer.

MASTER KEY
This key also regulates every other key. It is ideally used to recover compromised accounts.

HOW I PLAN TO KEEP MY MASTER PASSWORD
Master password is best saved offline for security purposes. I'll copy it into my diary and keep it safe.

Question 4

Screenshot_20210423-151346.png

Yes I know how to transfer steem token to another steem account. I'll need my private key to login to my wallet.
A click on the arrow beside my steem amount will pop options which I will see transfer.

Screenshot_20210423-151443.png

Then a click on the transfer will show me another page which i will input the username of the recipient, the amount of steem i want to transfer and a memo if necessary then click on highlighted "next" to complete the transaction.

Question 5

Screenshot_20210423-151346.png

I know how to power up steem. A click on the same arrow facing down beside my steem amount will lead me to options where I will see power up,

Screenshot_20210423-151731.png

then a click on the power up will do the power up by typing in the amount of steem i want use and power up, then click on "Power Up" to complete the process.

Sort:  
 3 years ago (edited)

Congratulations !

You have successfully completed achievment 2 task on "Basic Security on Steem". You can now proceed to Achivement 3 : Content Etiquette.

Curation Rate - 2

Follow @steemitblog for the latest updates and news on steemit platform and follow @steemingcurators to find more information about new contests and events.

 3 years ago 

Thank you @bright-obias

 3 years ago 

You have been upvoted by @bright-obias, Steem Greeter from STEEM POD Project and we are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator03 account to support the newcomers coming into steemit. Follow @steemitblog for the latest update on Steem Community. Steem on!

 3 years ago 

Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59626.66
ETH 2519.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43