Achievement 4 by @emergingtech Task : Applying Markdowns

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians / Steemizens

Here is a list of my previous achievement posts in case you missed them:

  1. #achievement1Introduction
  2. #achievement2Basic Security on Steem
  3. #achievement3Content Etiquette

Markdown

I am a software developer who tinkers with new tech and tools and one of my new favourite frameworks is Next.js and the JAM stack (JavaScript, API & Markup).

I build blogs using just markdown for static content - which is a great tool enabling the writers / creators to focus on what matters, content!

 


 

I already spend a lot of my time in VS Code and it has great extensions for markdown editing - hence it was the obvious choice for me as my preferred editor for writing these posts.

So I have a bit of an experience with markdown already but still I learned some new tricks while completing this achievement.

 


 

Trips & Tricks


Let me list here a few of the tricks I frequently use.
If you wonder how do I find out how someone did something I like let me just walk you through the simple steps it takes.
in your browser right click on the element you want to learn more about and click Inspect → this will open up your browser's inspector and will allow you to do what the name suggest - inspect the element you are interested in. It will look something like this:

The inspector of Brave browser - my preferred choice

Brave Inspector

As you can tell I like to space my content - I find it easier to separate parts and ideas, also it makes it easier for me to scroll and skim through content quickly. If you want to add larger extra spaces - just use this little hex code  

Or when you just want to use space sparingly like when creating a single page CV with 20 years of experience to list.
Sometimes it makes sense to write things in separate columns like when you want to compare things
.

 

Compare things in a 2-column layout? If that doesn't sound right - why not use a table:

<table>
    <thead>
        <tr>
            <th> Constraint </th> <th> REST </th> <th> GraphQL </th>
        <tr>
    </thead>
    <tbody>
        </tr>
            <td> Cacheable </td> <td> &#x2713; </td> <td> &#215; </td>
         </tr>
     </tbody>   
</table>

“To me, the real power of GraphQL is being able to implement certain design patterns on new or existing web services..”
―Jeff Lombard - Web/Mobile Developer

Thank you for reading as always and I hope you enjoyed it, see you in the next one.

This is how the table in the code example above will look like to others btw.

Constraint REST GraphQL
Cacheable ×

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Congratulations!

You have successfully completed this achievement task, you can now proceed to complete your next achievement task at your own convenience

Good luck
RATE: 3

Thank you very much

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61438.76
ETH 2384.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58