ACHIEVEMENT4 : APPLYING MARKDOWN by emeraldsom

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago

Dear Steemitians, welcome to my achievement 4 post which is about my EXPERIENCE AT THE UNIVERSITY

ADMISSION HUNT AND THE REGISTRATION PROCESS

Hello steemitians I will be telling u my admission story and how my undergraduate years went.

It all started 2011 when I wrote WAEC and my first JAMB though I scored high but wasn't admitted and I continue writing jamb year after year until 2014 when I wrote jamb and then post-UTME, though my name didn't come out in the merit list then a pastor friend advised me to get supplementary form in Ebonyi State University which I did and I changed my course of choice from Nursing Science to Food Science and technology and then I was admitted I was happy that I have gotten admission but on the second hand I was sad because I know nothing about food science and technology.
I was in a vigil that fateful day when a message got into my phone and just for me to open it and see the good news that I have been admitted and boom am an undergraduate the joy of being an undergraduate was so massive.

THE BEGINNING OF MY JOURNEY

Screenshot_20210531-183450_1.png

Now getting to the registration that follows, it was never an easy task, everything was so stressful couple with the fact that it's a state university and their fees is way too high more than double of what is been paid in a federal university and their discrimination between indigen and non indigens made the stress for the non indigens like us unbearable but I overcame. there were some major challenges that I encountered which includes

  1. Standing on queue in the bank to pay acceptance fee because you pay only in the schools' microfinance bank after which you go back to the school general office to convert the bank teller to receipt which at times last more than a day, we may be on queue for the whole day and it still won't reach our turn before the office close for the day and then we continue the next day and this same routine was been done for all payments made in the school.
  2. Going for health checkup which includes genotype and blood group test, Ebonyi State University have four campuses which are CAS Campus, PRESCO Campus, ISIEKE Campus and PERMSITE, and all these campuses go to the same place for this check up so it took me almost a week to get mine done and there wasn't a day I didn't go to that place and after queueing from morning to night and then repeat same thing for almost a week before I got my medical checkup done, it was really very stressful.
  3. Another one was house hunt, I squatted with a friend during my clearance but then I needed my own apartment but houses in that campus environment was very expensive not just the cost that was a problem but getting a safe place that isn't a usual place for criminal attack but thank God i finally got a safe place.
  4. Lecture and exam proper, these were the most hectic ones because they lasted for five years.

THE LECTURES AND EXAM

In my school @ Ebonyi State University, lecture was another hectic task starting with the lecture halls being very school and students had to jam-pack themselves and some even stand behind the window just to see the board and listen to the lecturer, food science and technology lecture is really difficult because its full of engineering calculation and that was a big problem for most students and d the worst of it is that most lecturers don't know how to teach couple with their 'bad mouth', always bad mouthing us that we are not brilliant and they atimes won't let us into the class once they are in and they will give unannounced quiz after their lecture just because students in the class are few but thank God that I proved them wrong and graduated with a very good result as one of the best graduating student in my class.

But some of my lecturers were really a darling they made my undergraduate days worth it, they teach well and are also always ready to give their parental advice and encouragement and that helped me alot that all through my stay in EBSU I never carried any course over.
The five years I spent in EBSU wasn't easy but thank God i scaled through, I also made friends there that helped change my life to become a person.

GRADUATION

Finally 2019, I graduated after all the stressful academic exercise with a very good result but I face another stressful phase which was project writing, practical and the defense and also final years clearance just like year one clearance, it wasn't only stressful but lots of cash was also involved but finally I made it, all Thanks to God.

CONCLUSION/ADVICE

After spending 5 years in school and then out to the society I found out that that five years was just a training period, the stress there was just nothing to compare with what was awaiting me out here in the society, so that training there is really paying off today in my life thereby making me not to break down because of the stress outside the school environment now, it taught me how to be strong and learn how to combine being a mother, a business woman and then a public servant at the same time, so my advice to all the undergraduate here is to hold on and be strong because the training is really going to pay off and you guys should do well not to cut corners but face what so ever that comes your way in the school environment with your head up.

Sort:  
Helloo @emeraldsom. I am Alejandro, one of the Greeter Helpers team members.

I stop by to inform you that I have successfully verified your achievement. You can now continue with the program and perform your achievement #5, which is called understanding the Steem tools. Here is the link to a post about it, so you can develop your next activity. Remember that the achievements' posts must be posted within the Newcomers' Community. Success for you.

Important information: congratulations for making it this far and performing your achievements. From now on, you may be eligible to be part of the support program for newcomers called 500SP Minnowsupport. I invite you to continue performing your other achievements.

TASK RATE
: 2

Notes: none.

Good day, @emeraldsom!

If you may, I would like to invite you to join a relatively new community called Inspire People, where you may find and post inspiring and uplifting content. It's for everyone who wants to write or read inspirational stories. May the community feed the soul.

Please do visit if you are interested. We're currently recruiting members help build and join the community.

"Your life is your message to the world. Make sure it's inspiring."

 3 years ago 

Hi, @emeraldsom,

Your post has been supported by @bright-obias from the Steem Greeter Team.

 3 years ago 

Alright, thank u so much

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61861.45
ETH 2995.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48