Achievement 2 @dprogress Task : Basic Security on Steem

in Newcomers' Community4 years ago (edited)

It's been a great time on the steemit platform, I have learnt alot and still learning since I join steemit community. After successfully completing my first achievement I consider it fit to write and carry out my second achievement. Before I move forward I want to appreciate @steemcurator01, @steemcurator02, @steemcurator03, @cryptokannon and other @steemcurators for their constant support since I join this platform.

Screenshot_20201218070050.png

Source

In this post I will respond to the questions asked starting from the first question to the last question.

Question 1

Have you retrieve all your keys on steemit?

Answer

Yes I have retrieve all my keys and save then in a secure place.immedately after my account was created I copied all my keys (posting, active, memo and master key) and I secure it in a safe location.

Question 2

Do you know each of these key functions and restrictions?

Answer

Yes and I will like to explain them one after the other starting from the posting key

Posting Key

Posting key is use to publish post, comment, reply post. You cannot use it to transfer steem or SBD but you can also use it to vote, resteem or edit post.

Active Key

Active Key one the other hand is use for transferring of steem and SBD. If you want to power up or power down you fund, you will definitely need active key.

Owner Key

Owner Key is the key that can be use to change other password, so one need to be keep it secure because in a situation where account is hack you can use the owner Key to change your keys

Memo Key

Memo key is use for encryption and decryption of memo. You use memo any time you are transfer your steem and SBD from your account to another account or wallet. You are always required to input memo any time you are doing this transaction. Well you might want to encrypt your memo so that unwanted person will not be able to read it or you might want to decrypt a memo sent to you. In any of this cases you will need memo key.

Master Key

Master key can perform all the functions of other keys. Other Keys such as posting, active, memo and owner keys are derive from the master key.

Question 3

How do you plan to keep your master password?

Answer

I will print a hardcopy out and save it in a very secure place. Also I intend to keep the key along side with other keys in the cloud: I mean save in my Google drive.

Question 4

Do you know how to transfer your steem token to another steem user account?

Answer

Yes I can transfer my token from my steem account to another account and I will like to illustration it.

p1.PNG

First run this steemit wallet url on your browser and click on login
https://steemitwallet.com

p2.PNG

login with your active key

p3.PNG

As you can see I have 35.041 liquid steem in my account and I want to send 5 steem to another account for practice.

p4.PNG

Click on the Steem, a drop down menu will show then select Transfer

p5.PNG

You will be required to input the account you want to transfer the steem to, the amount and the memo that is meant for public.

p6.png

Input then and click on Next

p7.png

You will be ask to confirm your transfer. Check the information you inputted whether the informations are correct. Then click ok

p8.PNG

The 5 steem will be transfer to the account as you can see now I have 30.041 steem left.

p9.PNG

Wait for 3-5minute and refresh your page a notification of your transactions will be showing on your History box notification.

Question 5

Do you know how to power up your STEEM?

Answer

Yes I know how to power up my steem and I will also like to illustration it again with the aid of pictures. Take note the power up operation required either active or owner or master Key.

Follow the same first and second steps just like when you want to transfer your steem

p10.PNG

First run this steemit wallet url on your browser and click on login
https://steemitwallet.com

p11.PNG

login with your active key

p12.PNG

As you can see I have 30.041 liquid steem in my account and I want to power up 10 steem to my account.

p13.PNG

Also you can see that I currently have 438.879 steem power in my account.

p14.PNG

Click on the Steem, a drop down menu will show then select Power up.

p15.PNG

You are required to type in the amount of Steem you want to power up.

p16.PNG

I will type 10 and click Power Up.

p17.PNG

You will be ask to confirm transfer. Check it and click ok.

p18.PNG

Just like I said earlier this power up operation required your Active or Owner or Master Key. So type in any of the keys and click Sign In

p19.PNG

Now you can see my fund in steem power has increase by 10. Now I have 448.879.

p20.PNG

Just like I said the other time wait for 3-5minute and refresh your page a notification of your transactions will be showing on your History box notification.

I believe I have answered all the five important questions asked and I will like to stop here.

Thank you very much for read my second achievement post.

Cc: @steemcurator01
Cc: @steemcurator02
Cc: @steemcurator03
Cc: @whitestallion

Sort:  
 4 years ago 
You have been upvoted by @besticofinder, Steem Greeter from STEEM POD Project and we are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator03 account to support the newcomers coming into steemit. Follow @steemitblog for the latest update on Steem Community. Steem on!
 4 years ago 

Thank you very much @besticofinder and @steemcurator03 for your support

Greetings friend @dprogress.

I am pleased to see that you have met achievement 2, so it is my duty to tell you that you should review the content of achievement 3 and meet its requirements to continue to advance and increase the opportunity to receive support from "Steem Greeters" and be eligible to apply for "500SP minnowsupport.

Remember to use the #achievement3 and #nigeria tags and post from Newcomers' Community.

I'm @adeljose, Venezuela Representative at Steemit, our desire is to help you grow in this platform, so I want to invite you to be part of Newcomers' Community managed by @cryptokannon.

#onepercent
#Venezuela
#affable

 4 years ago 

Thank you very much

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58833.91
ETH 3155.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44