ACHIEVEMENT 2| BASIC SECURITY ON STEEMIT

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago

Hello steemians! I hope we’re all doing great. Having completed my achievement 1 task and submitted, here’s my submission on the achievement 2 task which talks about BASIC SECURITY ON STEEM.

What is security?

C121167D-A8BE-4497-B3EF-7B4E0D65B306.jpeg
source

This can be defined as a freedom from or protection against potential harm or danger. In our daily activities, there are security measures we have to put in place in order to prevent us from dangers. These dangers might include physical harm, kidnapping, scams, hackers, and so on. But here I’ll specifically discuss on security on the STEEMIT platform and also the measures I ensure to keep my account secure and free from any form of malicious acts which includes unauthorized login on my Steemit account and also from unauthorized withdrawal of my funds. I hope this helps someone.

To complete this task I’ll be answering a few questions.

Q1. Have you retrieved all your keys from Steemit?

1352BB0C-A3DE-47B7-9C9C-74119D75109F.jpeg

Yes I have. This was one first things I did immediately after creating my account on this platform. I downloaded a pdf file containing all my keys.
I even sent it to my mail, and starred it so I would identify it anytime, also, I won’t mistake it for another mail and delete.
I also have a hard copy written down and kept somewhere safe and out of reach from anyone

Q2. Do you know each of these keys functions and restrictions?

Yes I know the keys and I’m familiar with their basic functions and how to use them already, they’re listed below;

  • My posting key is used to log into my account and perform all social operations like posting, commenting, editing posts, voting and resteeming
  • My active key is used for tasks that involve my wallet. These tasks include trading SBD, powering up and powering down, transferring funds and other tasks involving money.
  • Owner key is used to change other private keys in an account, including the owner key itself and this is used when you notice your account has been compromised. This is a very important key as it can help recover your account so it should be kept safe.
  • Memo key is used to encrypt and decrypt memos when transferring funds on the steem network.
  • Master key is used to access the document with all other keys on the steemit platform. This should be kept very safe

Q3. How do you plan to keep your master password?

I have it printed and kept out of reach from third-party access.

It is hidden in such a way that not even peeping Bart Simpson knows where to find it😂
749909AC-1E85-4029-8333-122BDCE2F2E4.png
Source

This isn’t the only way I kept is as I also have a soft copy hidden in my mail for whenever I need it. I used my mail because it’s safe and anyone that wants the keys needs access to my mail, which no one does!

CB94B1B3-7052-4825-ACCF-9A89830F8AC7.jpeg

Q4. Do you know how to transfer your steem to another steem user?

Yes I do. You can achieve this by;

  1. Click wallet and login using your active key.
    95967DA3-2C19-4FF3-B771-E0E9331708B1.jpeg

  2. Then scroll down and to where you have “STEEM”, then click the drop down arrow button, revealing a list of action, then select “TRANSFER”. Fill the form and enter the active key to proceed
    D9A0ED31-221F-49D0-8733-A0ED74D1DC0D.jpeg

Q5. Do you know how to power up your steem?

Yes I do. This is done by logging into the wallet also as explained above, using the active key.

  • Then click the dropdown arrow button beside ‘STEEM” to reveal a list of actions. Then click power-up. Fill the amount of steem you want to use to power up and then click power up. Input your active key to proceed.
    F75A143E-603C-4E6A-AEA1-B2F15E49A26B.jpeg

Thanks for reading through!
Don’t forget to leave a comment about your reviews on my post.

Thanks once again!

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Hi @demzy

Your post is really good in steemit platform.

I appreciate your great work✅

Hey I am Founder Of :
Open The World Community.

So I invite you to my community because you make awesome post in steemit I will support your post in our community so come here & make post as you like anything.

Hey my dear friend, how are you, I hope you're fine & you need more vote & money in steemit if you need " we have a new community name Open The World.

If you need more vote please come our community & make post (photography,The dairy game,Movie review, Science,Daily life, Story & if you like anything)

The steemit team said us that if we have active user then they will give us community or booming Support, so if you Wanna booming support then please come to our community & subscribe this community,vote and post here..you will get booming support within e very short time.

& We will try to give vote every quality post in this community, So I hope you will check our new community.

This community is open to all Steemian ❤️

Subscribe Click this link below :

https://steemit.com/trending/hive-151614

 3 years ago 

Joined already, Thank you!😁

Hello, welcome to Steemit.
✿ ** I'm Svm038 from Steem Greeter Team. **✿

Your Achievement 2 mission has been Confirmed. You can move on to the next task. You must share all achievement missions on Newcomer Community

Doing these achievement missions will increase the credibility of your account and make it easier for you to understand Steemit. You will also be able to win prizes.

You can become a member of the communities according to the topics you want to share.

Follow @steemitblog to stay up to date with Steemit

And many communities are waiting for you. Stay away from plagiarism.

Turkey representative

rate; 2

 3 years ago 

I'm delighted to be here, thank you!😁

 3 years ago 

Hi, @demzy,

Your post has been supported by @svm038 from the Steem Greeter Team.

 3 years ago 

Thank you @steemcurator03!

 3 years ago 

Hello,
You have done well to complete your achievement, and you have nice content
Keep steeming.....we move.

 3 years ago 

Thanks for the review @akam-theresa😁

We move!🚀

Wow! @demzy. Looking at your achievement 2 post, I can see that you are fully prepared to take on Steemit. You answered the questions rightly and your presentation was superb. You wrote like you have been on the platform for so long.

Kudos to you. Cheers.

 3 years ago 

I learnt a lot of things from my friend who introduced me to this platform😄

Thanks for the review @theopportunist, I'm delighted😇

It's a pleasure 😊. Continue like this and you are on your way to greater heights. 🙏

 3 years ago 

Amen, thanks😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46