Achievement 2 @comrade01: basic security in Steem

in Newcomers' Community2 years ago

Hello everyone and welcome to my post.. I feel great to have finished my achievement 1 post, and now, with the help and guidance from @cryptokannon, I'll like to embark onto my achievement 2task that demands I talk about the basic security in steemit.

IMG-20221116-WA0011.jpg


Question 1
Have you obtained and saved all your Steemit passwords?

Yes..

I have obtained all of my steemit passwords.. I got them when I registered, j was asked to download a PDF and the PDF contained all of the passwords


Question 2
Do you know all the functions and restrictions of the keys?

Yes..

I do know the functions of these keys.

There are different keys on steemit including the Tron key.
These keys are divided int three which are:

  1. Tron key

  2. Steem key

  3. Steem public key

TRON KEY

The Tron key is used to secure the Tron account. The Tron key is divided into two:
TRON Public Key (TRON Address): this key is used for the receiving of Tron tokens... when a post pays out, it pays out in both SBD, TRX, and STM... this key is used just for the TRX receive.

TRON Private Key:
This key has the highest authority over the Tron account.. it is used to sign transactions of Tron, which includes voting for an SR, freezing e.t.c

STEEM KEY

the steem keys are used for carrying out operations in the steem ecosystem.. they are 5 different keys and thy imcludes:

  1. private posting key

  2. Memo

  3. Private active key

  4. Owner key

  5. Master password

Private posting key
This key is used as the key for logins.. it's used to login into sites like steemit and it's used to perform diverse actions like posting, commenting e.t. c
It is very important to keep this key safe from harm's way.

PRIVATE MEMO KEY
this key is used to decrypt private transfer memos. I don't really think an account can be accessed just with this key.

Private active key:
This is the most important key after the master password.. it is used to sign monetary actions in the wallet.. it is also used to login to the wallet and it is needed to confirm transactions.

private owner key
This key is a very vital key and should be kept with utmost care. It can be used to reset all other keys. If a user loses their keys, this key can be used to regain control over the account within 30 days.

Master password:
I consider this as the "boss of bosses" because it is the foundation of other keys. This key just as the owner key, can be used to generate new keys for a particular account.

STEEM PUBLIC KEY

The public keys are not required for logins, but are used to encrypt messages and verify messages, and can be viewed at anytime in the steemscan. They are divided into:

  1. Posting Public key

  2. Memo Public key

  3. Active Public key

  4. Owner Public key

I don't particularly know much about the public keys, but I'll make more research to gain more knowledge..

Question 3
How do you plan to keep your master key safe?

I plan to safe my master password by uploading it to my Google drive, or pasting it in my diary. Or better still, I'll save it as a contact in my phone but the name will be very different, making anyone who sees it not interested in opening it.


Question 4
Do you know how to transfer your Steem tokens to another Steem user?

Click on the wallet page

IMG-20221116-WA0451.jpg
click on where the arrow is pointing at

IMG-20221116-WA0452.jpg
Click on the transfer button

IMG-20221116-WA0455.jpg
Fill in the transfer details

IMG-20221116-WA0453.jpg

IMG-20221116-WA0460.jpg
Fill in your private active key the click on "sign in"


Question 5
Do you know how to perform the power up process in Steem?

Yes I know how to do that.. these steps will help in powering up of funds:

Go to wallet
IMG-20221116-WA0461.jpg
Click in where the arrow is pointing

IMG-20221116-WA0462.jpg
Click on power up

IMG-20221116-WA0463.jpg
Input the amount of steem you want to power up

IMG-20221116-WA0458.jpg
Review of the transaction, click on "ok"

IMG-20221116-WA0460.jpg
Input your private active key then click on "sign in"

That's all there is for this task, hope you enjoyed reading true..

Thank you for visiting my post.. special regards to @cryptokannon

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

You have been verified and you may proceed to the next achievement task at your convenience.”

Rate : 2

 2 years ago 

Thanks alot @goodybest for the approval..

Ma/Sir please, i didn't get upvoted for this task ma/sir. I don't know if something can be done ma/sir

Hi, @comrade01,

Your post has been supported by @tocho2 from the Steem Greeter Team.

 2 years ago 

Thanks a lot sir

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58119.05
ETH 2357.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36