ACHIEVEMENT 2. BASIC SECURITY IN STEEMIT|| BY @CHIMEROSELAM

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago (edited)

istockphoto-1197780051-612x612.jpg

Image source

INTRODUCTION

Greetings to my fellow loved steemians in Newcomers' Community. Am delighted to write to you about the "Basic Security In Steemit"


Some questions on know if I am security conscious in Steemit include;


  • Have you retrieved all your keys in Steemit?

Yes I have! I have retrieved all my keys on Steemit and I have them in a soft copy and also in a PDF format as my document

Examples:
Private Posting key
Private Memo key
Private Active key
Private Owner key

Most important Master key

Posting public key
Memo public key
Active public key
Owner public key

MvwLKy3SfvJwXFKCRMDAFrt961JnKbKs2u3aeTo7L.png

  • Do you know each of these keys functions and restrictions

These keys have their various functions and restrictions. For instance
Public keys are not used to login while the private keys can be used.


Some of the private keys, their functions and restrictions

Posting key
This is used to login to steemit and for performing social action such as commenting, follow and unfollow, posting and voting.
It is not used to send tokens.

The Memo key
This it used to decrypt private transfer

The Active key
This key is used to for monetary transactions such as transfer of token, powering STEEM up and down, and also can be used in the market for buying steem with SBD

C3TZR1g81UNaPs7vzNXHueW5ZM76DSHWEY7onmfLxcK2iQMC9VG9i3EyTNz8885egVG6w9gt1xkg5AimzMEWNtMk1LMdk6S1RhJC4XDxWS7DR4UQw1e2Z2v.png

The Master key
This key is the most important key because it is used to generate other keys. It is used also for monetary transactions in the Wallet

C3TZR1g81UNaPs7vzNXHueW5ZM76DSHWEY7onmfLxcK2iQMC9VG9i3EyTNz8885egVG6w9gt1xkg5AimzMEWNtMk1LMdk6S1RhJC4XDxWS7DR4UQw1e2Z2v.png

The Owner key
This key is used to reset other keys. It is recommended to keep it offline or written down. It is used to retrieve an account when compromised. It is not used to generate any key

MvwLKy3SfvJwXFKCRMDAFrt961JnKbKs2u3aeTo7L.png

  • How do you plan to keep your Master Password?

I have already done what I could to safeguard my Master key.

  • I safed the PDF format in Google drive.
  • Pasted the keys to my WhatsApp account and also in my clipboard.
  • I deleted the one in my clipboard for security reasons

MvwLKy3SfvJwXFKCRMDAFrt961JnKbKs2u3aeTo7L.png

  • Do you Know how to transfer your steem token to another steem user account?

Yes I do. It was an interesting experience when I learnt from @ijelady on how to transfer my steem token to another user account
These are the steps I took

Step 1

Go to your profile, click on Wallet. A new page will open

Polish_20210819_220434870.png

Step 2

click on the triangle pointing down, a drop down menu will appear. Select transfer a new page will appear

Polish_20210819_204504674.png

Step 3

On the new page, type in the username of the steemit user and the amount of Steem token you want to transfer. e.g., 2.000 steem

Polish_20210819_205636029.png

Step 4

On the following page, it will require either your Active, Owner or Master Password. After inserting it, click on sign in.

Congratulations, you have transferred 2.000 steem to another steemit user account

Polish_20210819_205446805.png

MvwLKy3SfvJwXFKCRMDAFrt961JnKbKs2u3aeTo7L.png

  • Do you know how to power up your steem?

Yes! I do know how to power up my steem. I used some ways to Achieve this.

Firstly
In the steem Wallet, click on the little arrow Head

Screenshot_20210819-211238~2.png

Secondly
In a drop down menu, you will see transfer, transfer to savings, power up, trade and market. Select the option power up

Screenshot_20210819-211251~2.png

Thirdly
In a new screen, enter the amount of Steem you intend to power up. It takes a month (30 days) before powering down. Click on power up

Screenshot_20210819-211347~2.png

Fourthly
Confirm your transfer with the Active, Owner or Master Password and click sign in to complete the transaction process

Screenshot_20210819-203114~2.png

MvwLKy3SfvJwXFKCRMDAFrt961JnKbKs2u3aeTo7L.png

Sort:  

Hi i am Sumit one of the team member of Steem Greeter.

I am happy to announce that i have successfully verified your achievement 2 post. Now you are eligible for performing your achievement 3 which is about content etiquettes. You can refer this post for your next task.

Note:

Rate:2

 3 years ago 

I so happy to hear that. Am. Joyful that am eligible for performing achievement3

Thanks a million, @sumit71428

 3 years ago (edited)

Put the name of your country as one of the tag.

 3 years ago 

Already done, @sumit71428. Thanks for that, I truly appreciate

 3 years ago 

We go to Success, @successgr.with
Thank you so much

 3 years ago 

This is great @chimeroselam you can now proceed to achievement3

 3 years ago 

Yes! Successfully. Thank you so much, @ijelady

 3 years ago 

Hi, @chimeroselam,

Your post has been supported by @svm038 from the Steem Greeter Team.

 3 years ago 

I've been waiting dearly for this time, I wouldn't waste a bit of it. Utility can never be denied

 3 years ago 

Great job @chimeroselam you can now proceed to the next tax

 3 years ago 

Indeed! I will do just that, @chichieze
Thanks. I appreciate you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63396.97
ETH 2619.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80