ACHIEVEMENT 2 @caicaicai: BASIC SECURITY ON STEEM

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago

lock.jpg

Hello fellow steemians
How are you guys today? It’s been a pleasure to have this opportunity to write my post on the basic security tips as my achievement 2 on steemit with this given questions. And willingly be sharing things that I know. Please hear me out J

Question 1

Have you retrieve all your keys on steemit?

Yes I have retrieved and secured all of my keys. I posted it on my notes, in my email and starred them. So I will be able to access them wherever and whenever I wanted to.

Question 2

Do you know each of these key functions and restrictions?

Yes I’ve known them ever since my colleague introduce me to STEEMIT, I researched and learned thing I should know.

Such as, posting key; this key will allow your account to post, edit, vote, comment, resteem, follow and mute other accounts.

Active key;

This key is to important, it’s used to transfer funds like Steem power, Power up and Power down your account, voting for witness, converting of Steem Dollars and for updating profile details and profile graphics.

Owner keys;

This key is very useful as well, it can change any key of an account including the owner key. It’s safe storage is meant to put offline and only used to recover compromised account.

Memo key;

This key is used for encrypting and decrypting memos when transferring funds.
It is a must that you keep all this keys safe properly because you might not recover your account if these keys are lost. And you are warned never to allow any third party to access your account.

Question 3

How do you plan to keep your master password?

Will, to secure it. I posted it on notes, send it to my personal number (a conversation with myself), and even saved it to my Email.

Question 4

Do you know how to transfer your steem Token to another steem user account?

Yes, it took me a while to understand the process, but for the longest span of time I am able to understand it. And here’s the step;

01.png
Firstly, I logged into my wallet using my active key.

02.jpg
Secondly, I clicked on STEEM drop down menu and selected Transfer.

03.jpg
A dialog box appeared
I entered the username of the account i wish to transfer to in the "To" box.
I entered the amount of steem i wish to transfer in the "Amount" box.
Then i created a memo.
Clicked on the Next button to submit the form and confirmed with my active key.

Easy as that.

All thanks goes to @cryptokannon for letting us know about this achievement task and to keep us aware of the importance of securing our different keys as it affects steemit block chain.

Thank you for reading through

Cc: @steemcurator01
Cc: @steemcurator02
Cc: @steemcurator03
Cc: @steemalive
Cc: @trafalgar
Cc: @cryptokannon

written by: @caicaicai

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66426.55
ETH 3459.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62