Achievement 2 Basic Security on Steemit : @bobwalter

in Newcomers' Community2 years ago

photostudio_1646484400438 (2) (2).png
Designed with Image Editor

Hello!, I am happy to have you here. Hope you are doing well.

Speaking of security, bing defines security as "the state of being free from danger or threat." Source
In this post, i will be writing on various measures we will have to put in place to make sure our steemit account is 'free from threat' or any danger.

Have you retrieved all you keys?

Yes I have downloaded a PDF that contains all my keys and they are many keys.

Tron account keys
• TRON Public Key
• TRON Private Key

Steemit Private Keys
• Private Posting Key
• Private Memo Key
• Private Active Key
• Private Owner Key

Master Password

Your Steemit Public Keys
• Public Posting Keys
• Public Memo Keys
• Public Active Keys
• Public Owner Keys

The Functions of Each key

I will love to tell you what I know about the different keys I was given.

Tron account keys

This keys are used to manage my Tron wallet. It slows me to make transfer of Tron to and from my account.

Steemit Private Keys

Private posting key
I use this to login to my steemit account and it gives me the access to do the following:
• Posting.
• Resteeming.
• Following other users.
• Up Voting.
• Down Voting.
• Editing.

Private memo key
There is no use for the private Memo Key at this time on Steemit. The intended use was to encrypt massage.

Private active key
The account's private active Key can authorize the transfer of valuable resources. With the authority of the active key, I can carry out the following transactions:
• Placing a market order
• The transfer of Steem to another user
• Making a Voting for witness
• Delegating my Steem Power
• Making a Power Up
• Powering Down Steem

Private owner Key
The private owner Key can be used to recover my account if it gets compromised. It is almost as powerful as the master password

Master Password
The Master key or password is the key of all keys. It has the power to regenerate all other keys because it was the key that created my account and must be given the highest level of protection.

The public keys are used to encrypt and verify the massages we send and receive.

How i plan to keep my Master Password Safe ?

• I have downloaded my password, printed, laminated and saved it in a safety deposit box.
• I have sent a soft copy of my password to my Email address for safe keeping.
• My password is also secured in my special external hard disk where I keep a backup of important soft copy materials

How to transfer Steem token to another User ?

Screenshot_20220307-221721.jpg

• Open into your wallet.

Screenshot_20220307-221838.jpg

• Use the active key to login to your wallet to activate it.

Screenshot_20220307-221913.jpg

• Select transfer under Steem.

Screenshot_20220307-222115.jpg

• Indicate the account you are transferring to.

Screenshot_20220307-222115.jpg

• Specify the amount that is to be transferred

Screenshot_20220307-222115.jpg

• Select Next and ok to confirm the transaction.

How to power up?

Powering up means conversation from Steem to Steem power. And here is the conversion process.
Screenshot_20220307-221721.jpg

• Open into your wallet.

Screenshot_20220307-221838.jpg

• Use the active key to login to your wallet to activate it.

Screenshot_20220307-221913.jpg

• Select Power up under Steem.

Screenshot_20220307-222150.jpg

• Indicate the amount of Steem to be powered up

Screenshot_20220307-222205.jpg

• Select Power up and Ok to confirm the transaction.

cc

@juichi
@ngoenyi
@whitestallion
@alphafx
@svm038

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Hi, @bobwalter,

Your post has been supported by @tocho2 from the Steem Greeter Team.

Your achievement task 2 is successfully verified. You may proceed to the next one at your convenience.

I recommend you to power up atleast 50% of the rewards that you earn from this achievement program to become a part of club5050, club75 or club100 (as per your power-up). Joining one of these clubs will qualify you for the votes from curators.

Good luck!

Rate 3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57529.75
ETH 2571.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44