ACHIEVEMENT 2 @blessingamey: BASIC SECURITY ON STEEMsteemCreated with Sketch.

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago

Hello steemians
How are you guys today? Please stay with me as I write about the various keys on steemit as we all know that was given to us during our signing up on steemit.

I have been able to retrieve my keys

DIFFERENCES TYPES OF KEYS AND THEIR FUNCTIONS

MASTER PASSWORD:
The master password is the password given to you during your signing up which should be kept safe as it can be used to access an account and it is used to generate other keys.

OWNERS KEY:
The owners key is only needed when necessary, and it is the strongest key because it can change any key of an account. It is used to recover a compromised account.

ACTIVE KEY:
The active key is for transferring funds, power up/down transaction, converting steem dollars, voting for witnesses, updating profile details and placing a market order

POSTING KEY:
The posting key is what allows accounts to post, comment, edit, vote, resteem and follow or mute other accounts. And it is adviceable for users to login smeemit everyday with the posting key.

MEMO:
The memo key is used for encrypting and decrypting memos when transferring funds. And in order to encrypt a memo, use the pound/#sign before it.

This keys are all important so it is a most that you keep all this keys safe properly because you might not recover your account if these keys are lost. And you are warned never to allow any third party to access your account.

I plan to save my master key in my email

I have practiced how to transfer steem token to another steem user account and I will be illustrating it below.

Screenshot_20210327-120358_Chrome.jpg

I login to my wallet, sign in with my active key and clicked on steem dollars drop down arrow.
I clicked on transfer

Screenshot_20210327-120505_Chrome.jpg

I then input the user name of the person I want to transfer to.
Lastly I created a memo, submit and confirm with my active key.

Screenshot_20210327-120358_Chrome.jpg

I login to my wallet and sign in with my active keep
I clicked on STEEM arrow drop down
I clicked on power drop

Screenshot_20210327-120424_Chrome.jpg

I input the amount I want and then clicked on power up to confirm.

All thanks goes to @cryptokannon for letting us know about this achievement task and to keep us aware of the importance of securing our different keys as it affects steemit block chain.

Thank you for reading through

Cc: @steemcurator01
Cc: @steemcurator02
Cc: @steemcurator03
Cc: @steemalive
Cc: @trafalgar
Cc: @cryptokannon

written by: @blessingamey

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

@blessingamey . awesome post you have really done well by completing your achievement two task,that shows you have understand the basic security keys on Steemit..... kindly follow @steemblog for more update!
Looking forward to see you, complete your other achievements tasks
Best wish from @pricelesspresh🤗

 3 years ago 

Thank u @ pricelesspresh, really appreciate your comment

 3 years ago 

You really explained your work very well @blessingamey so try and be making use of your keys when and where necessary as to have full control of it.

 3 years ago (edited)

Thank you so much I appreciate your comment... I will do as you advised

Please help. It's urgent. Just upvote and resteem as much as possible. It is a matter of my Dad's life. Please help me. Just upvote my post https://steemit.com/steemit/@shital7/my-whole-world-has-been-shattered-just-in-a-day-please-save-my-dad

Please help. It's urgent. Just upvote and resteem as much as possible. It is a matter of my Dad's life. Please help me. Just upvote my post https://steemit.com/steemit/@shital7/my-whole-world-has-been-shattered-just-in-a-day-please-save-my-dad

 3 years ago 

You have been upvoted by @bright-obias, Steem Greeter from STEEM POD Project and we are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator03 account to support the newcomers coming into steemit. Follow @steemitblog for the latest update on Steem Community. Steem on!

 3 years ago 

@blessingamey realmente muy sencilla clara y educativa tu explicación, gracias por compartir, quienes estamos nuevos, como yo, es mu importante tener acceso de manera expedita a este tipo de información, gracias.

 3 years ago 

Thank you @tremaria, i appreciate your comment

 3 years ago 

Sir your post is excellent i like it . Pleaze support me i am new on steemit

 3 years ago 

Muy bien, gracias por su información, importante!!

 3 years ago 

Gracias por la información muy significativa y metódica que me ayuda aclarar muchas dudas para continuar en Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57062.81
ETH 3068.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43