Achievement 2 Task : Basic Security on Steem by @barna.uzoigwe.

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago

Great Steemians, it is my singular pleasure to take up my Achievement 2 task, where I will be elucidating the fundamental security keys.
Immediately after my STEEMIT account was created for me, the next information that I received was an introduction of the basic security keys which would be very crucial to my operations within the Community viz-a-viz access to my account, navigations within my account, posts and transfer of tokens, memos, voting etc, within and out of my account.
Having retrieved these keys, I took out time to read and understand their respective uniqueness and significance and noted them as follows;

  1. Private Posting Key: This key can be referred to as a multi-purpose key because its use is not limited to its name but can be used to log in for other purposes.
    Basically, this key enables an account to post stuffs like articles, diaries, memo etc. It is used to comment on posts of interest, edit write-ups, vote for posts, follow and unfollow (mute) accounts.

  2. The Private Active Key: This key is a very delicate key, hence, the need to guard it jealously with utmost care. This is because the key is used for monetary related actions. Wallet management actions like the transfer of token, powering up and powering down of STEEM, conversion of STEEM Dollars to any Currency of preference etc. can only be effectively done with the active key.
    This key gives an account the power to vote for witnesses, allows for profile details update, avatar, and placing market orders. I term this key as "THE LIFE KEY" of any account.

  3. The Private Owner Key: This is the most powerful key. It is called 'the master key' because it can only be used during dire situations such as in recovering a lost key, recovering a compromised password or account. Simply stated, the use of this key is only when necessary.
    It can also be used to change the other private keys, itself inclusive. It is worthy of note that the private key is not the same as the "Master Password".

  4. The Private Memo Key: This is the key for encryption and decryption. Encrypted memos can be decrypted using the memo key. The memo key can be used to exchange private memos between accounts following each other.

QUESTION 1: Have you retrieved all your keys on STEEMIT?

Yes. I have retrieved and documented all my keys accordingly. I have archived them in my Google Mail Account. Most of them, except the private owner key and master password, have been written down on my private Diary.

QUESTION 2: Do you know each of these keys' functions and restrictions?
Yes. I have carefully read in between lines, the basic security keys and now understand their uses, limitations and uniqueness.

QUESTION 3: How do you plan to keep your Master Password?

I have saved my master password on my Google Drive as well as on an external memory device (flash drive).

QUESTION 4: Do you know how to transfer your STEEM Token to another Steem User Account?
Yes. I have read up the steps and also been practically shown how to transfer STEEM Token to another account.
The steps are as follows;
a. Sign into your account wallet and ensure that the "WALLET" icon is highlighted.
b. Select the option "STEEM". Then from the drop-down menu that appears, click on "Transfer"
c. Fill in appropriately the spaces that appear after clicking on "Transfer", as required.

QUESTION 5: Do you know how to power up your STEEM?

Yes. To power up my tradeable token, I will use the following steps;
a. Sign into your account wallet and ensure that the "WALLET" icon is highlighted.
b. Select the option "STEEM". Then from the drop-down menu that appears, click on "Power up"
c. Fill in appropriately the spaces that appear after clicking on "Power up", as required.

I will conclude this post by thanking my Colleague and Friend, @xkool24 for his guide on this achievement 2 task completion
Screenshot_20210421-130944.png

Screenshot_20210421-130740.png
.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Congratulations on your progress, your achievement 2 task has been verified, you may now proceed to the next achievement task.

You have been upvoted by @whitestallion and I’m voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator03 account to support the newcomers coming into steemit.

Follow @steemitblog for the latest update on Steem Community.

 3 years ago 

Thank you. Will do

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 58034.65
ETH 2448.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38