Achievement 2 @ash11 Task : Basic Security on Steem

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone.

I hope all of you are doing great. My name is AAISH BIN ASIF and this is my Achievement 2 post which is about basic security on Steem, so here is what I have learned so far.
WhatsApp Image 2021-08-27 at 4.02.59 PM.jpeg

Question 1:

Have you retrieved all your keys on Steemit?

  • Yes, I have. I retrieved all the keys on Steemit immediately after I was done signing up/registration. A PDF file was sent to me by Steemit which I downloaded and read carefully. It has 4 keys that are the posting key, memo key, owner key and active key.

Question 2:

Do you know each of these key functions and restrictions?

  • Yes, I know the restrictions and functions of each key which I’m more than happy to elaborate:

Posting key:

Posting key is I think is one of the most important key because it allows the us to post, subscribe, reply, upvote and follow other users that are on this platform.

Memo key:

The function of memo key is to encrypt or decrypt memos during transferring of funds.

Active key:

The Active key helps us in making transactions such as power ups and downs, converting Steem dollars or to update market profile.

Owner key:

The Owner key allows the user to change a key or a password. Mostly it is used for the recovery of your lost account.

Question 3:

How do you plan to keep your master password?

  • I know that my master password is a very important thing to keep safe. I have kept it in different places. Like I have taken a screenshot of it and saved it on the cloud, I have also kept it safe in my PC, to which nobody but me has access as it is password protected. And I have also kept a physical copy of it on a piece of paper and hid it safely.

Question 4:

Do you know how to transfer your Steem token to another Steem user account?

  • Yes, I know how to transfer Steem token to another Steem account. As the active key is responsible for all the transactions, we have to first of all go to Steem wallet (1) then on the right side of the screen on the PC, a drop-down bar is shown which has steem written on it (2), click on it which will show an option to transfer that I have clearly represented by number (3). A form will appear in front of you, fill it up and your Steem tokens will be transferred to another Steem user account.

WhatsApp Image 2021-08-27 at 9.32.09 PM.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2021-08-27 at 9.41.23 PM.jpeg
WhatsApp Image 2021-08-27 at 9.44.10 PM.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2021-08-27 at 10.31.42 PM.jpeg

Question 5:

Do you know how to power up your Steem?

  • Yes, I know how to power up my Steem. It is somewhat similar to the transfer of Steem tokens to another user account. To power up, you have to go to wallet (1), then on the right corner there is a drop-down bar called Steem(2), click on it and there is your option to power up your Steem which is represented in the third picture by (4). A form will appear in front of you, fill it up and power up your Steem.

WhatsApp Image 2021-08-27 at 9.32.09 PM.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2021-08-27 at 9.41.23 PM.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2021-08-27 at 9.44.10 PM.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2021-08-27 at 10.33.29 PM.jpeg

Sort:  
 3 years ago (edited)

Please add how to transfer steem token to steemit user and also how to power up with screenshots.

 3 years ago 

Thank you for guiding me. I'm doing it.❤️

 3 years ago 

@sarkodieeric1 please check if it's okay now?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60003.48
ETH 2309.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49