Achievement 2 @arunima-biju Task : Basic Security on Steem

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago

Simple Work Blog Banner.png

INRODUCTION

Intro.png

Hello Everybody,

This is the second task assigned to me and it is about basic security in steem and its key types. Before I start I would like to thank @haidermehdi for verifying my task1 post.

TASK DETAILS

task.png

So, as I mentioned above my tasks are primarily about learning about steem security and answering some of the questions provided here. These are the questions :

  1. Have you retrieved all your keys on steemit?

  2. Do you know each of these key functions and restrictions?

  3. How do you plan to keep your master password?

  4. Do you know how to transfer your steem token to another steem user account?

  5. Do you know how to power up your STEEM?

Now let me answer these questions one by one to prove that I understand their answers.

QUESTION NO.1

1. Have you retrieved all your keys on steemit?


Yes, I have and I can assure you that I have stored it very safely. Also, let me make it clear that I understood that keeping an offline copy is important in case of any storage failure.

QUESTION NO.2

2. Do you know each of these key functions and restrictions?

Yes, I understood the key functions and their restrictions, let me explain.
  1. The posting key: This key should be used while logging into steemit as this one helps the user perform social activities like posting content. I also understand that using this key often helps reduce the risk of losing one's wallet content as this key can't be used to initiate a token transfer or any activity.

  2. The Memo key: This is that key that helps the blockchain encrypt and decrypt the memo when we transfer funds. Memo helps identify the wallet to transfer funds.

  3. The Owner key: As the name suggests this is basically an owner of all the other keys and it can be used to change all the other keys. So, one must be very careful when using this key and should only use it if necessary and be aware of the forum that you enter this key to cause people to potentially use phishing to steal that key.

  4. The Active key: This is yet another important key that must be used to make a fund transfer or simply perform any activity that deals with powering up, moving wallet content, and actions like those. This key also helps us vote for witnesses too.

QUESTION NO.3

3. How do you plan to keep your master password?

I have decided to keep a printed copy stored in a secret location and another copy in the cloud and yes, I won't simply upload it and save it in the cloud but will store it after encrypting it. I know that getting your account recovered can only be done if we have this key.

QUESTION NO.4

4. Do you know how to transfer your steem token to another steem user account?

Yes, I do know that. I'll explain it with some illustrations.

1. Step 1

step1.png

Click on your profile picture in the top right corner.

2. Step 2

step1.1.png

Select Profile from the given options.

3. Step 3

step2.png

Click on Wallet near settings.

4. Step 4

step3.png

Now click on the dropdown icon on the desired asset and select transfer.

5. Step 5

step4.png

Here fill out the Username, Amount, and Memo then complete the transaction using the active key.

QUESTION NO.5

5. Do you know how to power up your STEEM?

Yes, I learned that too. So, to power up follow my above instructions up to step 4 and select power up from the list of options.

step5.png

After selecting power up a new pop-up like this would appear, here enter the amount to stem to power and continue with the transaction, and then you will see that your Steem Power has increased to an amount proportional to the amount that you have entered while powering up.

Conclusion

conc.png

This was really a great learning experience, Thanks @cryptokannon for her guides that helped me understand more about steem and its security. All of the banner used in this write-up is designed at [canva](https://www.canva.com/) by myself, Thanks for reading.
Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Congratulations @arunima-biju

You have passed Achievement 2 on understanding the purposed of the different keys offered to you on the steemit platform on creating your account. I personally happy you went ahead to show us how you can transfer seen token and power up your account from your wallet

RemarkRate
Presentation01
Tasks complete1.5
Engaging0.5
Total03

Rating: 3

Please get ready for the next task on Achievement 3: Content Etiquette Link You are expected to know the Proof of Brain concept and able to produce and sharing quality/original content.


Thanks
Greeter helper

 3 years ago 

Hi, @arunima-biju,

Your post has been supported by @adeljose from the Steem Greeter Team.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65641.09
ETH 3479.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50