Achievement 2 @Apphiahacer Task: Basic security on steem

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago (edited)

Screenshot_20210618_005958.jpg

Good morning steemians,

In a bid to progress in the steemit community, I decided to take on my achievement 2

First; Steem is tradeable tokens that may be transferred anywhere at anytime.

Question 1; Have you retrieved all your keys on steemit?
Answer; Yes, I have. By downloading the PDF at the beginning of my signing up to the steemit community, I was able to retrieve all my KEYS.

Question 2; Do you know each of these key functions and restrictions?
Answer; Yes I do. From reading the PDF document on the STEEMIT KEYS, I've been able to know the keys.

The first key is called the POSTING KEY which is used for most of the work here on the steem community like; editing, posting on communities,voting, commenting, resteeming, to also follow or mute accounts I am not interested in.

But I learnt that the more I used my posting key the more likely it was going to be compromised, that didn't sound so nice; but the good news was that a limited POSTING key exists to reduce the damage.

The second key is the; ACTIVE Key, deals with financial transactions which is termed "sensitive tasks", such as transferring funds, powerup/down transactions, converting steem Dollars, voting for witnesses, updating profile details and avatar, and placing a market order. This is a feature banks do not have, if they did, I wasn't aware.

The next key is OWNER KEY , the most powerful key-meant to use only when absolutely necessary because it could change the key of an account, this is its restriction and it is adviced it's saved offline.

Next up is the MEMO KEY, used to encrypt and decrypt memos when transferring funds. I would definitely used these terms, the encryting word made me believe for a moment I was a computer gig.

The MASTER KEY, they say is used to derive all keys for your account including the OWNER key, If someone has access to your master password, they could steal your account and all of the tokens in it.

Question 3; How do you plan to keep your master password?

After reading the file, I needed to find a safe space to save my document; so it won't be lost or compromised. My email account and document file housed my Keys for me. This is how my master password is saved and secured.

Question 4; Do you know to transfer your STEEM TOKEN to another STEEM user account?
Answer; Yes, I do.

This is done by;
a) going to the steem wallet,
b) login with your Active key,
c) then go to steem, press the drop down arrow
d) Press the transfer option to transfer to anyone you wish to.
It is illustrated with this images;

Screenshot_20210619_201256_com.android.chrome.jpg

Screenshot_20210619_201629_com.android.chrome.jpg

Screenshot_20210619_201805_com.android.chrome.jpg

Question 4; Do you know how to power up your STEEM?
Answer; Yes, I do

This is done by going to the Steem wallet, login in with your Active Key, you'll see a dashboard

Screenshot_20210619_201629_com.android.chrome.jpg

Press the power up option,

Screenshot_20210619_201648Y.android.chrome.jpg

You'd then enter the amount you want to power up the amount of steem I want, to build steem power.

Here's my achievement 1 link;
https://steemit.com/hive-172186/@apphiahacer/achievement-1-task

Thank you for this opportunity to learn;
@Bright_Obias
@ngoeyi
@kiwiscanfly
@cryptokannon

Sort:  

Hello @apphiahacer, please you need to follow a question based post. Check out this tutorial: https://steemit.com/hive-172186/@cryptokannon/basic-security-on-steem-achievement-2-mentor-by-cryptokannon. That will show you how to perform achievement 2. You are also missing the wallet part of the achievement. Thursday, June 17th, 2021.

#onepercent #venezuela #affable

 3 years ago 

Okay, thank you very much; will go through the tutorial
.

Good luck 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64599.25
ETH 3467.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55