My Introductory Post on Steemit

in Newcomers' Community2 years ago (edited)

To begin with, my name is Marvel Angulu, I am in my early twenties. But before I proceed, I specially want to appreciate @whitestallion for his patience and guidance so far. He has proven to be a good friend and mentor. He has proven that you can mix ‘business, friendship and pleasure’. We have gone through a lot together but, he has stayed through and true. I will forever be grateful and loyal to him.

image.png

My birth place is Niger State. It is a state in the north central region of Nigeria. We generally refer to it as the middle belt region. Nigeria has been plagued by series of terrorist attacks and invasion since the last one decade. The Boko Haram sect is one of the many terrorist organizations causing terror in the landscape. Excluding bandits, kidnappings, cultism and gang related violence.

Niger State is blessed with a lot of natural resources, land area being the chef of them. We have a total landmass of about 736,000 approximately. As a matter of fact, my state has the biggest land area in the whole of Nigeria. Interesting isn’t it? However, we are struggling to survive because of terrorist attacks.

In Niger state, we have different classes of working people. A major component of the inhabitants are farmers, while civil servants make up the next class of workers in the region. Some local government areas in the state have been facing serious attacks from bandits. These bandits launch attacks in villages that are majorly occupied by the farming class anytime time of the day and they kill both young and old, kidnap and demand for ransom, burn houses and so many other bad things

image.png

These occurrences render people homeless and they have to resort to internal displaced persons (IDP) camps. Notwithstanding, Niger state is a beautiful place to live. Our major delicacies are ‘Tuwo’, a delicacy made out of maize and corn flour, ‘pounded yam’, this delicacy is made from boiled yam. The yam is softened by boiling and it is mashed together using a pestle and a mortar.

Enough of my state ha-ha. My parents are government workers and my father run a business as well. I completed my primary and secondary school education in the Nigeria and I am running my bachelor degree education in a federal university of technology in Nigeria. I am not married neither do I plan on doing that anytime soon, for what it’s worth, I am in my early twenties and there is a lot in stock for me to achieve.

I am currently running my internship program in our national examination council in the country. Here, I have been exposed to the reality of life after college. I have had to crush deadlines, work with precision and developed other soft skills. I had already started researching about the concept of computer programming before I got accepted for my internship in this organization. I tried taking sharp pictures but the lights in my office were really reflecting on my paper as can see in the image below. The write up on my paper is not legible because of the reflection.

Speaking about the office environment, I have made myself acquainted with how programming works, databases inclusive. I have been able to work with strict and disciplined bosses. It is easier said than done, believe me! I have been writing since I was a kid. I began by writing articles, stories and general interesting.

Furthermore, I began professional writing few years ago. I have written blog posts, articles for an agricultural institute that I worked with for months. I have designed pitch decks, business plans, articles on cryptocurrency, the foreign exchange market, NFTs, WEB 3.0 and so on. I am studying Meteorology in school notwithstanding, because of certain self-discoveries I have decided to further my research into UI/UX (User Interface and User Experience). Speaking about hobbies, I have a few. I am always busy with one thing or the other but, when I am free I enjoy playing video games such as FIFA, Call of Duty. I also watch few movies with bias to real life experiences that were turned into movies. I am 6ft tall and for that reason, friends do recommend basketball for me but, let me just say I’m not a sport person. Yesterday, Nigeria drew the world cup qualifiers with Ghana. It was an emotional moment for the nation notwithstanding, we stand by Ghana in the spirit of sportsmanship and we hope they perform excellently at the world cup

I actually love cooking. Whenever I am not busy with work I try out new cooking patterns. I love trying out new stuff, I mean, nobody is going to cook for you in school, right? You either eat out or cook by yourself. I love drawing sometimes. I do pencil portraits.

IMG_20200221_165000.jpg

I have great passion for writing. Being able to pen down my thoughts and perceptions is a wonderful thing to do. This is a platform that I believe will help me master my art and earn simultaneously. I also look forward to networking with great minds on this platform. Thank you for reading my post, I envision that this journey will be a long but interesting one.

Sort:  
Loading...
Loading...

Hello dear @angulumarvel, we are sorry we have missed Achievement post voting window. You will need to have active post so that we can give a catch up vote

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61420.98
ETH 3276.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47