Achievement 2@amyjay task basic security on steemit

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago

Greetings to all members of steemit. I am glad to be given this opportunity to do my achievement 2 tasks. It is such an honor as i am not just doing this task for fancy but i am doing it as a methout of learning how to use all my security keys. Before i go properly to do my achievement 2 task i want to take this opportunity to show my appreciation to @cryptokannon for this beautiful guide she made which is accurate and easy to understand to help direct use on how to carry on with our task and also @kiwiscanfly for the article he made concerning steemit wallet to make newcomers like myself to learn from it. I am trully grateful.

Getting in to my task proper, i was introduced to steemit by @ebuahsang1 and i remember him telling me a story about how he lost his first steemit account because he was careless in safeguiding his security key and by they time he was ready to start actively participating in steemit he could not retrieve the account and with that effect he lost a couple of followers and many other benefits which is a heartbreaking and painful thing to happen to any steemain. So with this story i learned my first lesson which is retrieving all my security keys.

Seconly, going through the post on basic security by @cryptokannon i can confidently explain in my on words the functions of different keys on steemit of which i will start with

1 private posting key: this particular key carries the highest number of uses as it is the key that we use in posting, commenting on other post, upvoting on important content, editing our post when need be, resteeming and following or muting of other steemains.

2 owner key: this key is known to be the most powerful key because it can be use to reset all security keys in an account and it can even be used to reset itself

3 master key: this key is that password that you get through the signing up process, when this key is given, it is use to generate other keys including the poweful owner key. This key can be use again when recovering an account.

4 memo key: this key is specially use in steemit wallet to encrypt and decrypt memos when transferring funds

5 lastly we have active key which is active just as its name, it is use in sensitive activities such as power up and down transactions, profile setting, stransfering funds, placing market other and converting steem dollars.

After reading and understanding that this keys are very delicate, i am confirming to steemit administration that i have understood the defferent uses of this key and i have save them ofline so that i won't have to be heart broken incase something happens with my device that i find in hard to retrieve my key. So presently i have the keys printed out in a hard copy and kept where i keep my special documents and i also have they keys stored in my USB drive and i have also handwritten it on my dairy.

As things always happens i did my first transfer of funs on the 24 of September 2021 to @ebuahsang1 confirming that i am becoming a pro in steemit 😍and i actually had a class with @alvinj on powering up that same yesterday so yes i can powerup and i also know the importance of powering up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43