You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Introducing myself to the steemit platform

Hi Jisnu! Nice to meet you, I am new to this platform as well.

I found your post to be so inspiring. At such a young age, you have great talent as a sculptor, and a writer but I am also inspired by your ambition. I look forward to learning more about you, your life, and your work, and I hope this platform provides all the benefits you seek.

However, I am also a parent, and my instinct to care for the young doesn't leave so easily. My oldest child is 10 years, he's in 6th grade (he's younger than most of his classmates) which may be equivalent to your 'class six'. Please take my words as if I am speaking them to you with as much love and care as I would for my own child. Your post has a lot of personally-identifiable information in it. Including information unique to you means that you are making yourself more vulnerable for a stranger on the internet to learn more information about you & your family than is safe.

I've read that editing your post when new can have a harmful effect, and I am very sorry if my advice causes you to lose money - that is not my intention, I promise. But, what good is money, if a stranger starts to stalk you on the internet? What if they try to come to your school? Please change your post and definitely remove the personally identifiable information I have listed below. I use one hyphen "-" in place of a bullet, this is the thing I am pointing out should be changed, and the text following two hyphens "--" is just a little note or explanation for you, it's not anything you need to do. I also included some information about some information that is on the border of possibly being too specific or harmful, but it's up to you. Some people might debate about if that's being too sensitive, but with your young age I think you are quite vulnerable so your restrictions should be higher. That's just my opinion.

I would like to be supportive of you, and as I said, I don't want to have any effects on your earnings so that's why I don't want to flag the post. I hope to keep interacting with you in the future, you seems like a very interesting person with a bright, wonderful future ahead of you.

In addition to editing out at least the 4 things I mentioned, I also really need you to tell a trusted adult in your community. It doesn't have to be your parent if you're worried about it, but maybe you tell your teacher... Or maybe you tell a neighbor. You need to tell some adult who is going to help keep you safe, in case any dangerous people try to get in touch with you. Please find this person quickly and tell them what happened, I am hopeful that, because you trust them, they will advise you about what to do next to stay safe. I don't think you should go to your sister, because, in my opinion, she really missed out on keeping you safe already, so I think another adult should be asked to help as well.

Before posting, make sure your post doesn't have any PII. In a Times of India post written by Deeksha Somani on Feb 6, 2024, "PII includes Aadhaar, PAN, voter identity, passport, contact number, and biometric info". I would extend the list, for kids, to include your email, whatsapp, snapchat, address, town/city, school, clubs you are a member of, and more.

The specific personally identifiable information you've included are:

  • Your last name
    -- (Only use your first name & nickname, ok?)
  • The town where you live
    -- (Sharing your country is OK. Sharing your region is OK unless few people live there, then don't share)
  • Your school
    -- (Only your class but not your teachers' names)
  • Pictures with text sharing identifiable information
    -- (Next time use a solid box with an editing tool or something else to cover this, or you can crop that part out of the picture)

Things that you shared that are still a little personal:

  • Your family business
    -- (OK to share that your family has a business, but not safe to share the industry or name)
  • Number of employees at Dad's business
    -- (Not a necessity but I don't think your dad would like it)
Sort:  

Such a great comment you wrote and no one answered you. It's a sad thing and I see you left after one post and one comment.
Contact me if you come back.

All the best to you.
🍀♥️


UMMER(4).jpg
Team True Colours - @ wakeupkitty

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63491.17
ETH 2618.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79