Achievement 2 @advokate Task : Basic Security on Steem

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago (edited)

Hello steemians

I am greatly delighted to present to you my Achievement 2, a write up on various keys used in steemit.
D5zH9SyxCKd9GJ4T6rkBdeqZw1coQAaQyCUzUF4FozBvW6xRDPNm63LehZBv54NqUeT8CwtGYikPn7EZEU5KBWddACbnNtUZjT9LNeZw29SFW2gQSe1y7WxS5PLZkpq6wc6EtE.png
Src
My fellow steemians please read through this post, this post is open for further corrections. I will appreciate your contributions.

I have retrieved all my keys, I was able to do this by using my master password generated when I signed up to download all other passwords in a PDF file.

Different passwords and their functions

2N61tyyncFaFVtpM8rCsJzDgecVMtkz4jpzBsszXjhqan9w6LUrCL9sTnj67jsoQh7ZhPMDaYRTn1C9PhERgv3qQK6RD2W7WMzGicQa1EJacYGYTQzWKF4f6bEKgMEG1gTQKiAJ1gpwQ.jpeg
Src

Master key

This is a key used key/password gotten while signing up to steemit, this password can be used in downloading other passwords like the active key, memo key, posting and owners keys and the master key used in changing passwords when one feels his or her account has been compromised by a third party, therefore if this master key is lost, the account will be lost.

The other passwords that was downloaded through the master key are as follows:

Active key

This password is used in carrying out other sensitive activities in steemit like powering up and powering down transaction, transferring funds, converting Steem Dollar to steem or converting Steem to Steem Dollar, updating profile details, placing a market order, and voting for witness.

Owner key

This key is the most powerful key, this key is used to recover a compromised account and this key is capable of changing any key of an account. The owner key is meant to be stored offline by writing it down on book or printing it out and keep it in a safe place.

Posting Key

The posting Key allows user to make posts, comment on post, vote other people's post, edit post, resteem, mute and follow other users. It is this posting key that is used to login into steemit everyday to carry out various daily activities as mentioned above.

Memo key

Memo key is used to concealing memos and convert back memos when transferring funds. In other to conceal memo, use the (#) sign before it.

My plans to keep my passwords

When I successfully signed up steemit, I immediately write down my passwords on my private diary, I further went ahead to print it the hard copy in case I loss my phone and I kept the hard copy between my other important documents where I believe my things are safe.

How to transfer steem token to another user's account

I have severally transferred steem token to other users account, I was able to do this by the following steps in the picture below;

Firstly, I logged into my steemit wallet with my active key, I clicked on my Steem balance icon which is showing 0.00 Steem and then transfer option.
IMG_20210622_180349.jpg
IMG_20210622_175124.jpg

  1. I input the username of the friends I am transferring my Steem to,
  2. next to that I input the amount of Steem to be transferred to the friend and
  3. I clicked on the next icon to confirm my transaction and it is done.
    IMG_20210622_181739.jpg

How to power up my Steem

Recently I converted my SBD to Steem which I used to powering up. I was able to do this by clicking on my Steem balance icon showing 0.00 Steem, I clicked on the power up icon, I input the amount of Steem I want to power up, clicked on power up icon and I confirmed my power up, it was successful.
IMG_20210622_182652.jpg

Thank you all for reading through my Achievement2 post .
Special thanks to @cryptokannon for your achievement 2 mentorship which had helped me to carry out this task.

CC;
@ngoenyi

This is my ACHIEVEMENT 1 POST

Sort:  

Hi i am Sumit one of the team member of Steem Greeter.

I am happy to announce that i have successfully verified your achievement 2 post. Now you are eligible for performing your achievement 3 which is about content etiquettes. You can refer this post for your next task.

Note:

Rate:2

 3 years ago 

@sumit71428
Thank you for the verification

 3 years ago 

@sumit71428 Hello teacher, I have not been approved for my achievement 2

 3 years ago 

Hi, @advokate,

Your post has been supported by @adeljose from the Steem Greeter Team.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61609.18
ETH 3390.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48