ACHIEVEMENT 2 POST BY @abanksforever : Basic Security on Steem

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago

I was advised by @njaywan and @danielo109 , to go ahead and complete my Achievement 2 Task. Having read all the articles under the achievement 2, I have to show the community that i have really understood what I have learnt. Here comes my Achievement 2 post.

Security

My post is based on these various queries;

Question 1
Have you retrieve all your keys on steemit?

  • First of all, before i was able to really access all my Wallet privileges, i logged in with my Active Key.
  • I was able to access my Wallet from the top right corner, as shown below.

Wallet top right corner.jpg

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  • As shown below, I selected the "Keys and Permissions" tab, so i could access all my keys.

choosing keys and permissions.jpg

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I finally scrolled to the bottom where I was able access all my Keys. Due to security reasons, I cannot show it here.
I also learnt that, the best way to store your Keys is to store them offline on a USB storage or use a password manager.

Showing you stored it to a pendrive.jpg

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Question 2
Do you know each of these key functions and restrictions?

Posting Key
The Posting Key is used solely to log in to their Steemit.com account and perform certain social actions such as Posting, Commenting, Editing your account profile and so on. Users are not allowed to make monetary transactions or make changes to their keys, when they log in with the Posting Key.

Active Key
The Active Key grants users extra permissions that allows them to make monetary and wallet related actions such as transferring tokens or powering STEEM up and down. This key should be protected at all costs because if the someone gets this Key, all your tokens could be lost.

Owner Key
This Key has the permission to reset all other Keys. This Key can help me recover my account in case I lose my Active Key or Posting Key.

Memo Key
The Memo Key can only encrypt and decrypt private messages sent through Blockchain.

Public Keys
Each Steem Key has a public and private key to encrypt and decrypt data. Public keys are associated with usernames and can be used to look up associated transactions on the blockchain. Your public keys are not required for login on Steemit.com and you don't need to store these safely.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Question 3
How do you plan to keep your master password?

I have stored my Master Password on a pendrive and placed it in a safe corner. I am not going to use it unless it is really necessary that I have to retrieve my Keys.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Question 4
Do you know how to transfer your steem token to another steem user account?

  • To transfer your steem token, you need to access your Wallet Section.

Wallet top right corner.jpg

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

*I click on the drop down arrow by my STEEM amount and click on transfer.

Transfer.jpg

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Now, I type the Address of the Receiver in the "To" section and the amount I want to send in the "Amount" section. I can also leave a memo in the "Memo" section for the receiver. Then finally click "Next"

Address.jpg

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Question 5
Do you know how to power up your STEEM?

  • To power up my STEEM, I would have to buy some STEEM from an exchange site. Once I have the amount I need, I will click the drop down arrow by my STEEM amount and select "Power Up" from the drop down menu.
  • Then I choose the amount I want to power up with in the "Amount" box and click "Power UP"

Convert STEEM Power.jpg

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  • I would like to thank @njaywan for guiding me to do this and @cryptokannon for the post in the community. Cheers!
Sort:  

Nice work buddy.

I see your line breaks didn't work.

For iphone users, I think it is rather a few "stars";

**********

 3 years ago 

Many thanks, I had to improvise😅😅

 3 years ago 

You have been upvoted by @njaywan and I’m voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator03 account to support the newcomers coming into steemit. You may now proceed to the next achievement task.


Keep following @steemitblog for updates.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65124.62
ETH 3554.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46