Contest - "Object of the Week" #14- a bracelet- EVA´S BRACELETS

in Steem-BRU (BY-RU-UA)3 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone, members of the Steem-Bru community!

Thanks to @strecoza for organising the "Object of the Week - Bracelets" contest.

The bracelets I have chosen for the contest are the ones made by my friend Eva, using the handmade technique of bobbin lace.
It consists of interweaving threads that are wound on wooden spools called "bobbin laces". We follow a pattern drawn on cardboard with the design we want to make. The work is done on a cushion and is held in place with pins.

The bobbin lace is a very old tradition that is still alive in many villages in Spain. This laborious technique is mainly used to make lace, doilies, lace...but it can also be used to make delicate jewellery like the ones made by my friend Eva. She chooses some very pretty threads and puts some coloured stones on them.

These are some of the bracelets made by my friend:

DSC_8565.jpg

DSC_8566.jpg

30712680_904433563069807_4207309281231372288_n.jpeg

DSC_8597.jpg

And this is the pad where the bobbin lace is made:

DSC_8577.jpg

descarga.jpeg

I have chosen a photo from the internet to give you an idea of the complexity of the work:

source

A few years ago I took a bobbin lace class...after an hour I gave up! it's too complicated for me...since then I admire these works very much.

I will tell you a sad anecdote that shows how little this kind of work is valued. My friend sells these bracelets for about 25 euros, she offered them to a well known Ibiza fashion designer on the island to sell them in her shop and ...she thought they were very expensive!

This is my friend, at a flea market selling her bracelets.

DSC_8576.jpg

The link to the contest object of the week

Greetings to all of you!

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

У Вас супер подруга, отличные браслеты, передайте ей привет от нас!)

Gracias por el premio @strecoza....le transmitiré a mi amiga tus saludos 💜

😍 gracias!

What a nice and laborious work do your friend! It is like goldsmithing with threads.
Congratulations to her for the patience and to you for the well documenting the process.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61787.88
ETH 2991.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48