The Blood Moon

in Steem-BRU (BY-RU-UA)3 years ago

The Blood Moon


SAM_5124.JPG

I was thinking what photo should I look for to participate in this week's contest which is all about the purple colour. First think I thought about were some flowers or bishop's clothes. As far as I could probably find the photo of purple flower on my computer, I was pretty sure I never made any photo to the bishop :)

Flowers can look marvelous, although it's very safe solution and I decided to look for something less obvious. Then I reminded that I've made some photos of the Blood Moon few years ago in Chile (exactly in 2015).

Blood Moon is the common name for a total lunar eclipse. That kind of thing happens very rarely. In this century will happen only eight times (already did happen in 2004 and 2015. Next time can be observed in 2033).

When the moon and the sun are meeing each others on the sky, many different colours can be noticed. First, you can observe the orange and red - most characteristic colours which the name comes from. If the sky is cloudy, dark purple can be noticed as well. I tried to catch it with my old photo camera and I believe in some point I was able to, although obviously when you observe the moon live, colours are much more vivid.

SAM_5189.JPG

SAM_5205.JPG

SAM_5344.JPG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62228.71
ETH 2419.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57