@nesmeliy's MUSIC COVER CONTEST | by @ofalamin

Hi everyone, this is my entry into the Cover Contest hosted by @nesmeliy.
20210927_074825_0000.png

Music has always been a huge impact on my daily activities, even while I write this article right now, I have my headphones plugged in listening to music and that's all the inspiration I need.

In this post, I will be talking about my favourite music cover which is No Angels by Bastille feat. Ella Eyre, this song was released in 2013 and frankly has a bit more sauce to the original.


"No Angels" features the lyrics of TLC's song "No Scrubs", and instrumental of "Angels", a song by The xx. You have to listen to it to understand how excellent of a mashup the song is, words really won't do justice to it

Personally, I find Bastille a really good artist, actually discovered him after this song with Marshmello that pulled a lot of numbers on the mainstream.
Screenshot_20210927-075000.png

The original song was released in 1992 by TLC called No Scrubs

" “No Scrubs” was the lead single from TLC’s third album, FanMail, released on February 2, 1999. The song was a huge success. Topping the charts in early 1999 and going #1 in the United States, Australia, Ireland, and in New Zealand.
The song earned them a Grammy win for “Best R&B Performance by a Duo or Group with Vocal” at the 42nd Annual Grammy Awards, held on February 23, 2000.
The track peaked at #1 on April 10, 1999 in the United States on Billboard’s “The Hot 100” chart for 28 weeks.
TLC’s record label decided to release two versions of “No Scrubs”; one without Lisa “Left Eye” Lopes' rap and one with her rap, to boost radio play." Genius App

Screenshot_20210927-071722.png

Lyrics

[Dan]
A scrub is a guy who thinks he’s fly and is also known as a buster
Always talkin’ about what he wants and just sits on his broke ass
So, no, I don’t want your number
No, I don’t want to give you mine and
No, I don’t want to meet you nowhere
No, don’t want none of your time
No, I don’t want no scrubs
A scrub is a guy that can’t get no love from me
Hangin’ out the passenger side
Of his best friend’s ride
Trying to holla at me
I don’t want no scrubs
A scrub is a guy that can’t get no love from me
Hangin’ out the passenger side
Of his best friend’s ride
Trying to holla at me
Trying to holla at me at me
[Ella]
But a scrub's checkin' me and his game is kinda weak
And I know that he cannot approach me
Cause I'm looking like class and he's looking like trash
Can't get with no dead-beat ass
So
[Dan]
No, I don’t want your number
No, I don’t want to give you mine and
No, I don’t want to meet you nowhere
No, don’t want none of your time
No
[Ella]
I don’t want no scrubs
A scrub is a guy that can’t get no love from me
Hangin’ out the passenger side
Of his best friend’s ride
Trying to holla at me
I don’t want no scrub
A scrub is a guy that can’t get no love from me
Hangin’ out the passenger side
Of his best friend’s ride
Trying to holla at me
Holler at me
Holler at me
[Dan]
If you don’t have a car and you’re walking
(Oh yes son, I’m talking to you)
If you live at home with your momma
[Norman:] We're all in our private traps
If you have a shorty but you don’t show love
[Norman:] Clamped in them, and none of us can ever get out
Wanna get me with no money
Oh no, I don’t want no
No scrubs, no scrubs
[Marion:] Sometimes we deliberately step into those traps
No scrubs,
[Norman:] I was born in mine; I don't mind it anymore
No scrubs,
[Marion:] Oh but you should, you should mind it
No scrubs,
[Norman:] Oh I do, but I say I don't
[Dan & Ella]
No, I don’t want no scrubs
A scrub is a guy that can’t get no love from me
Hangin’ out the passenger side
Of his best friend’s ride
Trying to holla at me
I don’t want no scrubs
A scrub is a guy that can’t get no love from me
Hangin’ out the passenger side
Of his best friend’s ride
[Ella]
Trying to holler at me
Trying to holler at me

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

отлично! спасибо за участие!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58225.92
ETH 3120.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50