STEEM PLANTS CONTEST: Week #15.|| Dragon Fruit: Yield of Thy Labor by @nickjon

IMG20210609062442.jpg

Hello dear steem friends! Today I will try my luck in the steem plants contest week #15 by @knopka145. I want to say my regards and thanks for this opportunity to share one of my favorite plants.

IMG20210609062458.jpg
Eye Catcher
I thought it was just another normal day. I waked up early and getting ready for work then as I glimpsed by the window I saw this beautiful dragon fruit flower. Wow! it is an early bloom for almost 3 years. My wife and I have waited this long to see the plant bloom with flower. It did not disappointed us at any way because the flower was mysteriously beautiful.

A little background about this plant:

Popularly known as a "Dragon Fruit" plant. This plant is also known as Pitaya or Pitahaya but it is very popular with its nickname: Dragon Fruit. True to its name this plant is based on the mythical creatures which are the "Dragons." Legend has it that the fruit was the last breath of the dragon that was killed by dragon hunters.

IMG20210609062642.jpg

I bought three cuttings of the plant through online platform. I ordered it and paid it as my order arrived. As soon as I have the cuttings, I've planted it in a big plastic container. I opted to place it in our house terrace because it is the only place in our house where it can get a good and ample source of sunlight. The plant was growing well which branches out a lot but we almost lost hope that it will bear fruit. I put organic fertilizer and waited for the good result. Finally, I saw the positive sign that it will yield fruits.

IMG20210623061939.jpgFruit of thy Labor

Purposely, I did not hand pollinate the flower. I want to test if this Dragon Fruit that I've planted can fully developed a fruit without hand pollination because I plan to propagate this. After two weeks the result was a huge success. Now, I am excited to taste the fruit. I will give an update for our first dragon fruit, first harvest and taste in the future post. So, for now that's it. I want to end by leaving this message: plant and be merry!

Thank you for dropping by and reading my post.

Keep safe and stay healthy always!


About the author: I'm a teacher by profession married with one son. I love fishing, gardening, and I do play basketball. I'm also a pet lover, a homebody person but if there is an adventure I can be an adventurer!

4i88GgaV8qiFU89taP2MgKXzwntUGAvkoQiKU7VxyD37q9X3YhdFbUQg794ZajvLrxZ2csUFnSbTDT55GKoFuyi4hpjYWhoFuiJEnynxV6muc4RDLpygyTBiCv.png

Sincerely,
@nickjon

#steemplantscontest, #steemplants, #betterlife, #steemexclusive, #philippines, #contest, #steemit


Sort:  

Hey! I am amazed at the sight of your flowers. you have grown a great plant. your post has been accepted. Thanks for participating!

Huge thanks for the accepted entry 😊!

Realmente pensé que era una enorme flor, hasta que entre al post y pude notar que solo era el ángulo, xD me siento engañada jajaja 😁, sin embargo tanto grande como pequeña sigue siendo una hermosa planta

Huge thanks 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62667.39
ETH 2432.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66