STEEMIT EXLIBRIS SEASON 2 ENTRY BY @event-horizon

in Steem-BRU (BY-RU-UA)3 years ago (edited)

My First Ever Custom Made Bookshelf


“Each copy of a book has its own unique personality. Reading a book from the library is not the same as reading another copy of the same book from the same library, which is again completely different from reading your own copy of the book.”

― Indu Muralidharan, The Reengineers


Hello Everyone!!

This is my first time participating in this competition. I came to know about Season 1 when it ended. I really liked the idea of Home Libraries Competition, so I immediately decided to participate on the next chance. Not just because of the competition but because books make me excited. I am sure book lovers here can relate.


Background

Let me tell you about myself first. I am 28 years old and belong to Pakistan. I am a mother and a housewife. I have done my bachelors in Computer Science. I love reading books. I got the habit of reading from my parents. I used to read every magazine or paper I got my hands on. Later on, in grade 6, there was a chapter of Kidnapped in my English book. The ending of chapter left me intrigued and curious and I wanted to know the ending. That was the first time, I made an effort to find the novel and read it. After that novel reading became a habit.

“We read to know we're not alone.”
― William Nicholson, Shadowlands


I read Jane Austen later on. Shakespeare's plays. Basically, I began with classical English Literature. Books became my best friend. There was a point when I couldn't stop reading so I tried reading eBooks as well. But to be honest, they can't be compared to paper books. So I switched back to paper books.

Surprisingly, my husband is also a book lover and a solid paper book lover. I used to giveaway my books to friends but he gave me an idea to save them and make a home library. So the immediate search of our first bookshelf began. We finalized a design and called a carpenter at home. We showed him the design and he made it in two days. He used to work in our backyard. That was easy for me to keep checking on him if he's going in the right direction. The design we chose was a little complicated. It was a round shelf but he designed it so effortlessly.

We were really happy with the outcome. At that time, all our books easily fit into that shelf. So many people have asked me about that shelf till date. But our books have increased triple the amount. So we are in need of a new shelf now. I am thinking to have a tree shaped shelf now and name it "Tree of Knowledge".

Right now, we can just increase our bookshelves but one day when we will have our own home, we will dedicate a separate room to our library.

“I have always imagined that Paradise will be a kind of library.”

― Jorge Luis Borges


My Favorite Books

I love reading fictional books. The books that were supposed to go in my first bookshelf had to be the most loved ones.

Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling is my top favorite easily. The series has seven books. Each book is epic and so profoundly written. The depth and details of all the scenes and characters are phenomenal. I have never read a series with plot so strong and unmistakably powerful. This series is about a magical world and literally makes you believe that such world exists and you are a part of it.

I like those books which transport you from the real world and throw your mind into an imaginary world and making you almost believe that it could all be true. There are so much detail in these books yet so easy to read. You won't find a single sentence or word that is not explained in the book. Every theory is backed up by another solid theory. I mean, by the end of the series, you will find answers to all your questions.

I recommend Harry Potter to all those people who want to start or adopt reading as a habit. This is a children's book series so this is very easy to read if you are not a pro in English. Plus, the story and plot is very well established that it's impossible for you to not like it.


Nicholas Sparks

I am sure everyone has that name as well. If not that name then must have heard about A Walk to Remember or The Notebook . Nicholas Sparks is famous for tragic romance. He has very unique style of writing. I mainly love this books because they don't have cheesy romance element. They are practical love stories and element of suspense is what makes you keep reading till the end.

Some of the books that I have read are:

  • Nights in Rodanthe
  • A Bend in the Road
  • See Me
  • At First Sight
  • True Believer

My favorite would be See Mee. It's the most recent book I read of the author and it was just epic.


Sydney Sheldon

Who doesn't love this author's books?! Full of suspense and crime. I was clearly hooked with the If Tomorrow Comes . That was a page turner for me. I was literally glued to it till the end. I watched the series too but we book lovers always find books to be better.


Colleen Hoover

I didn't know about this author until recently. I was randomly visiting a book store when I came across a title called It Ends With Us . I liked the sound of it and immediately grabbed five more titles from the author. I read all the books in a month and I was just mind blown by the way she writes and keeps her author's engaged. I was familiar to Nicholas Spars style. It was somewhat similar to that yet so different.

My immediate favorite books were IT ENDS WITH US and ALL YOUR PERFECTS.

Last month, I read Verity. Oh My God, what a read it was. Full of suspense, romance, thrill and creepy chills. It is a must and must read. If you are looking into that genre. It wasn't a long book but I thoroughly enjoyed reading it.



Dan Brown is a favorite as well. The Da Vinci Code, Angels and Demons, The Lost Symbol, Inferno, Origin, all the Professor Langdon Series are incredibly amazing. The most awesome suspense and mystery write in my opinion.


Elif Shafak, Paige Toon, Khaled Hosseni, Paulo Cohelo are good too.
I have read their other books as well but I don't own them as of now. Will add all of them to my library one day.


Leigh Burdago is my most recent discovery. I am currently reading Six of Crows duolgy. I have read book 1 and I loved it so much. If you are Money Heist Fan then you will surely love this series.

I am currently reading Crooked Kingdom ( Part 2 of the series). I'm in the beginning. So let's see how it turns out but have heard very good reviews.


Plans For My Home Library

As I have mentioned before, I have plans to dedicate one whole room to library in my home. I want to instill the reading habit in my kids as well. I will make a family book club in which we will discuss books with each other. All the books would be paper books of course. I don't know about the world but paper books will always be significant in my home.

“I declare after all there is no enjoyment like reading! How much sooner one tires of any thing than of a book! -- When I have a house of my own, I shall be miserable if I have not an excellent library.”

― Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice





Special Mentions

@steemcurator01
@steemcurator02
@filinpaul


Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Thanks for the interesting story of your library. Written very sincerely and with love. A very original bookshelf! I've never seen anything like it. I know some authors from your library: Rowling, Brown, Coelho. I also really like Borges, whom you quote.

Thankyou so much for your kind words.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66038.35
ETH 3444.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61