STEEM PLANTS CONTEST WEEK #10| "Gabi" Plants

A pleasant day to all steemians! It's been a bountiful day since I joined steemit, there are surprises and blessings which come to my way, reasons that we should be merry and grateful for all the days. I believe that every living thing deserves to have a bless life. Just like plants, whether it is terrestrial or aquatic plants. They give food, happiness, contentment, satisfaction, help in earning a living, and even cure illnesses.

IMG_20210409_083707.jpg

This is my first time to share my post in this community. I am very much eager to share this terrestrial plant we have in our yard, it is commonly known in our country Philippines, specifically in our place, the Gabi plant, which has a scientific name of Cocolasia esculenta. The English words are known as elephant's ear, cocoyam, taro root, dasheen and eddoe.

IMG_20210413_170740.jpg

It was really my husband who planted this plant because at first, I was hesitant for I know it will take a year to harvest it. My husband believes that there are many various advantages and health benefits brought by Gabi plant. It helps lose weight since it is rich in fiber and it can also reduce blood sugar and heart diseases according to research.

IMG_20210413_165227.jpg

With my constant reminder about taking care of all plants to my children, they diligently water the plants every day specially now, they are staying and studying at home due to health crisis we are experiencing.

IMG_20210409_084827.jpg

Months has passed, we already harvested the plants, we just simply dug the roots and got the root vegetables or we simply call it Gabi.

IMG_20210413_154703.jpg

We cooked it after, through a simple boiled water for my father who is a 66-year old, widower. We can also cook Gabi by adding pork meat in it. This plant's health benefits are factual. My father who has health problem specially now in his old age, he has been experiencing metabolic syndrome specifically an increased of blood pressure and abnormal cholesterol, but with daily exercise and proper eating habits like eating Gabi at least twice or thrice a week, which is very accessible in our home, it helps increased his metabolism.

IMG_20210413_165155.jpg

Plants may differ in form and functions to us humans, the most important is we know how to properly care plants because these are also living things which serve purpose in nature and humanity.

Truly,
abby0207


About the Author

Mabuhay ! abby0207 is a public junior high school teacher handling English in the Philippines. She makes sure to always have time with her children and shows dedication in her work. She values life and shares it through writing blogs to continue inspire others. Muchas Gracias!..

Sort:  

ka nice diay sa Gabi nga plant maam jeanne 😊

Thanks just.jinky for your compliment.

This is a very nice steem plants post @abby0207. It is very detailed and also your family is helping you in taking care of them.

Thank you steemitcebu for appreciating my post!

You're welcome @abby0207...keep on steeming!

wow, very informative post my friend

Thanks fabio2614, with your belief and patience, great changes come to my way.

it's getting closer my friend🙂

Hey! we call this plant Alocasia; not many people decide to keep it at home because of its large size. I am very pleased to see that you teach your children to take care of nature, take care of plants and use the beneficial properties of these plants wisely. Thanks for participating!;)

Thank you also knopka145 for your appreciation..

ask ko ma'am jeane para sa school garden.

This is very well known also in milktea flavors - Taro Milk Tea. Its one of my favorite☺️.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63501.83
ETH 2650.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81