You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Path, Your Path

in The Ink Well5 years ago

I think you're really good at getting inside the main characters head chinny.

I could tell so much about her from the narration. This is a great tale of love and obsession.

My only gripe would be that there's but enough action going on, but that's a small constructive criticism. There is a kind of nostalgic sadness to the tone of the prose that lends an air of fascination for the reader.

Nice short story. Thanks for sharing at The Ink Well 🙂

Sort:  

Thank you, Raj. It's always a pleasure to to read your reply. And feel free to criticise anytime. I don't mind at all.

Posted using Partiko Android

You know me, I'm a natural teacher when it comes to creative writing.

But I want to keep The Ink Well all about fun. I'd never have provided constructive feedback like that if you weren't used to it 😉 having spent so much time in the promo-mentors sessions.

Plus I've gotta follow the ink well guidelines I wrote lol

Keep your criticism or feedback constructive - Peer review is an big part of any creative writer's development to learn how to effectively edit. But it can be hard to hear criticism when you are emotionally connected to a poem or story.

Hopefully it was constructive. I really liked the story overall!

It definitely was. Thank you.

Posted using Partiko Android

I love this story!!
Your prose is pitch-perfect. Nothing about it suggests English is not your native language, but your name suggests you're African. You're very well educated and a natural storyteller.
"Not enough action" for Raj, but for me it's fine as is. The action (earthquake, I presume) already took her mother and she's rebuilding her life in the neighborhood of her childhood. You capture the shock, the moving on, the calm that children can achieve after catastrophe:

It's been four days and all she does is stand and watch. They don't seem to be bothered by her silence. She had also watched the ground swallow her mother the week before.

Wow!

She didn't object when they came and took her away after that. She likes the tranquility here. The house she lived in with her mother had always been noisy and there were lots of people.

Your short sentences also capture the mindset and your simple word choices are strong:

She wishes her mother is here with her. She misses her.

We enter the man's POV, and again you pull us right into his world ("Deep Point of View" is the narrative technique you employ so well; you may already know that, but I learned the term years after my degree in English teaching).

Succint prose - I love it!

It became a silent ministration then. She would wait for him on the same spot. He would pick her up without a word. He knew things had changed when he stopped thinking about his late wife...

I love the ending!!!!

#Understatement is so powerful, it makes me see why "purple prose" is verboten. I still love purple prose, especially in the fantasy genre, but in your story, "less is more." This:

She made the quietude her friend. And on that day her mother brought her here, it was with a black eye, bruised arms and trembling lips. Her father had lain in an unnatural position in a pool of his own blood. That was the last time she saw him.

Then she's in a tight dress, with painted face, doing what she must to pay her way in the world, and you narrate that, too, with clinical precision and emotional restraint.

I'm sorry I missed out on whatever promo-mentors sessions Raj refers to!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54554.44
ETH 2294.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31